Xenia OH – Kilkare Speedway fans were greeted by a rare sight as the sun was out shining bright. KilKare, like most OH racetracks have fell victim to cold and rainy weekends.

The NASCAR WHELEN RACING SERIES late models took to the oval with Don Mahaffey Jr leading the early laps. Last weeks winner Bill Burba sped by and never looked back as he and the Platinum Express pit crew celebrated their third visit in victory lane. Mahaffey settled for second spot, with Cody Robinson third, Ryan Fleming fourth and Russ Bobb fifth. Burba set quick time, with Robinson taking the dash and Fleming the heat.

The street stock feature saw Tipp City’s Jamie Sites win his third feature of the season in his Sites Motor Sports Camaro. Sites motored by early leader Mike South leaving South and David Stump to battle for second place. South edged ahead to take second, followed by Stump. Jacob Heckman was fourth with Josh Longstreth fifth. Sites posted fast time, with Stump taking the dash win.

Mike Carroll won the Dash and feature this past weekend at Kilkare Speedway. (Kilkare Speedway photo)

Mike Carroll won the Dash and feature this past weekend at Kilkare Speedway. (Kilkare Speedway photo)

In modifieds the race was slowed by fast qualifier Kyle Purvis blown engine on lap nine. Mike Carroll took the lead in his familiar McDonalds sponsored ride. The win was the second of the season for Carroll. John Donavon and Jack Jones battled before Donavon took the spot. Derek Barnette was fourth with Bob Sibila fifth. Carroll won the dash, with Logan McPherson winning the heat.

In compact action, the 40 lap feature was ran green to checker. Tony Cottrill won the event in his family maintained Honda. Bill Honious was second, with Amber Holley third, Jason Parsons fourth and Jess Drook fifth. Robert Isbell and Honious took heat checkers.

This week will mark the first running of the Lee Raymond Memorial for the modifieds. It will also be grandparents night. Late model, street stocks and compacts will also be in action.

Kil Kare Speedway Results 05-30-14
Late Models:
Fast Qualifier: Bill Burba 13.902
Dash Winner: Cody Robinson
Heat Winner: Ryan Fleming
Feature: 1. Bill Burba 2. Don Mahaffey Jr. 3. Cody Robinson 4. Ryan Fleming 5. Russ Bobb 6. Tyler Mahaffey 7. Rob Jacks 8. Joe Taylor 9. Arlis Williams

Fast Qualifier: Kyle Purvis 13.904
Heat Winners: Mike Carroll and Logan McPherson
Feature: 1. Mike Carroll 2. John Donovan 3. Jack Jones 4. Derek Barnett 5. Bob Sibila Jr. 6. Zach Stacy 7. Logan McPherson 8. Mark Timmerman 9. Kyle Purvis 10. Chad Pendleton 11. Grant Gamble

Sport Stocks:
Fast Qualifier: Jamie Sites 15.279
Dash Winner: David Stump
Feature: 1. Jamie Sites 2. Mike South Jr. 3. David Stump 4. Jacob Heckman 5. Josh Longstreth 6. Marcus Melzer 7. Bo Hoelscher

Fast Qualifier: Tony Cottrill 14.838
Heat Winners: Bill Honious and Bob Isbell
Feature: 1. Tony Cottrill 2. Bill Honious 3. Amber Holley 4. Jason Parsons 5. Jess Drook 6. Mike Brewer 7. Kevin McCoy 8. Davey Shaw 9. Nick Bertke 10. Bob Isbell

– Kilkare Speedway Press Release.  Photo Credit: Kilkare Speedway

Bill Burba Takes His Third Win at Kilkare Speedway