‘Big Money’ Puts Down Fast Time in Tour Mod Qualifying

Matt Hirschman started off the Tour-type Modified portion of the 2020 World Series of Asphalt Stock Car Racing much the way he ended last year’s event, on top of the board. ‘Big Money Matt’ set quick time in Tour Mod qualifying at New Smyrna Speedway early on Monday evening.


“It’s good, we’re certainly in it, that’s a good start,” Hirschman told Speed51.  “Hopefully [the invert] is on the lower side of things, if not we got 50 laps to race for it. We’ll see.”


The invert was indeed on the low side, as a four-car invert was drawn. After the four-car invert, Lutz will start on the pole.


Defending Race of Champions Asphalt Modified Series champion Partick Emerling put in second fastest, followed by Anthony Nocella, Lutz, and Ryan Preece.


Tyler Rypkema, Kyle Ebersole, JR Bertuccio, Jeremy Gerstner and Jimmy Zacharias rounded the top ten.


Eric Goodale timed in 13th after missing practice to fix a problem in the fuel system, while Jimmy Blewett was 19thafter changing out engines after their primary motor blew up in practice.


Tour-type Modified Starting Lineup


Pos. # Driver
1 46 Craig Lutz
2 92 Anthony Nocella
3 07 Patrick Emerling
4 60 Matt Hirschman
5 6 Ryan Preece
6 32 Tyler Rypkema
7 5 Kyle Ebersole
8 2 J.R. Bertuccio
9 17 Jeremy Gerstner
10 21KJN Jimmy Zacharias
11 22 Eddie McCarthy
12 36 David Sapienza
13 58 Eric Goodale
14 83 Mike Willis, Jr.
15 45 Brett Meservey
16 09 Brad Vanhouten
17 16 Anthony Sesely
18 4 Jeffrey Gallup
19 21 Jimmy Blewett
20 54 Tommy Catalano
21 33 Andy Petree
22 23 Joe DeGracia
23 56 Amy Catalano
24 41 Kevin Shea
25 14 Broc Brown
26 7 Rich Parker
27 21T Paul Townsend
28 64 Tyler Catalano
29 2X Mike Bologna
30 12 Joe Bertuccio
31 27 Adam LaCicero


-Story by: Connor Sullivan, Speed51 Northeast Editor – Twitter: @Connor51CT

-Photo credit: Speed51 Photo

‘Big Money’ Puts Down Fast Time in Tour Mod Qualifying