Anderson, IN – Ben Tunny held off a hard-charging Mike Hadley Jr. to win the 65th annual National Crown Saturday night at Anderson Speedway. It was Tunny’s second Winged Outlaw Figure 8 Series (WOFS) feature victory of the year. Tunny’s win also snapped a streak of four different winners in 2014 WOFS competition. Tunny is the first repeat winner in 2014 WOFS competition.


Tunny earned the pole position for the 65th annual National Crown, by virtue of quick time, with a lap of 17.037 seconds.


The National Crown is the nation’s oldest continuously ran stock car race. The event even pre-dates the legendary Daytona 500. The event format has changed over the years. This year’s version was a 100-lap event paying $3,000 to the winner.


When the green flag flew, Hadley wrestled his way into the lead with Tunny falling into second. The duo ran side-by-side for two laps until Tunny was able to secure the lead by lap three. A group of five cars that included: RJ Norton Jr., Jeff Shackleford, and Mike Riddle Jr., ran nose-to-tail until a red flag was flown on lap 15 after Randy Pence and Jedi Cluxton made contact at the intersection. Both drivers were ok.


When the race resumed, Hadley resumed pressuring Tunny for the lead until another red flag was waved on lap 25. Danny Turner and Curtis Chapman made contact at the intersection.


When the race resumed Tunny and Hadley resumed their torrid battle for the lead. The duo ran nose-to-tail the remainder of the race. Tunny was able to get around lapped cars without any difficulties to claim the $3,000 and add his name to distinguished list of former National Crown winners. Hadley continued his streak of five consecutive top three finishes in WOFS competition. Following Hadley to the checkered flag was RJ Norton Jr. and former National Crown champions Jeff Shackleford and Mike Riddle Jr.


Shackleford’s bid to become a back-to-back National Crown champion fell short with his fourth place finish. The defending champion ran a smooth race and was in contention for the win the majority of event.


“This is a pretty big race and one I haven’t won before tonight” explained Tunny after his win. ”It’s a prestigious race and I feel good to have been a part of it and get the win. Hadley was there the whole time. There were a couple of times he got beside me and made me crunch up and drive extra hard. Luckily we got the win” concluded Tunny.



  1. Ben Tunny (5)
  2. Michael Hadley Jr. (4)
  3. RJ Norton Jr. (69)
  4. Jeff Shackleford (28)
  5. Mike Riddle Jr. (00)
  6. Chris Green (22)
  7. Shawn Cullen (50)
  8. Bruce McFall (93)
  9. Jesse Tunny (7)
  10. Curtis Chapman (3)
  11. Danny Turner (87)

12   Randy Pence (76)

  1. Danny Stanely Jr. (11)

14.Jedi Cluxton (18)

Ben Tunny Wins the Figure-8 National Crown at Anderson