Salem, IN — The ARCA/CRA Super Series Powered by JEGS will continue its 22nd season of competition on the fast 1/2 mile semi-banked paved oval of Baer Field Motorsports Park located in Fort Wayne, Indiana, this Saturday, July 28th for the running of the Summit City 100.


There have been 17 ARCA/CRA Super Series races at Baer Field dating back to the first race on June 26th, 1999 won by two-time Series Champion, Brian Ross. Three-time Series Champion Scott Hantz has five of his 31 career wins at Baer Field Motorsports Park, while Eddie Hoffman has been to victory lane twice. In addition to Ross Fort Wayne’s own Larry Zent, Junior Hanley and Brian Campbell have a win apiece. 2005 Series Champion Jeff Lane, 2004 Series Champion Chuck Barnes Jr., J.R. Roahrig, 2015 Series Champion Grant Quinlan and 2016 series Champion Cody Coughlin also have one win apiece. In last season’s event, three time Series Champion Johnny VanDoorn got the victory.


Campbell is the only former series Baer Field winner currently entered for Saturday night’s race. Campbell won the Money in the Bank series event at Berlin Raceway on June 11th and the series event at Toledo Speedway on June 29th, he is second in series all-time victories 26 wins, five wins behind all-time leader Hantz.


Josh Brock comes into Monday’s event as the series points leader after getting his first ever series victory at Anderson Speedway on May 5th. Senneker Performance Rookie of the Year point leader Austin Kunert is in second after picking up his first series win at Kil-Kare Raceway on June 2nd, he is 29 points behind Brock. Hunter Jack is now in third place in points, he is 23 points behind Kunert. Fellow rookie Jon Beach is in fourth place, he is 10 points behind Kunert. 2017 series Champion and Senneker Performance Rookie of the Year Logan Runyon is in fifth place, he is 18 points behind Beach. All the top five are entered for Monday’s event.


Other top CRA drivers entered for Saturday’s event include Greg Van Alst, Kyle Crump, Nick Grodi, and JEGS/CRA All-Star Tour competitors Eric Lee and James Krueger.


Former series winner and Ft. Wayne native Terry Fisher Jr. is entered to make his 2018 series debut on Saturday. Fisher Jr. was a series regular from 2003 through the 2012 season, and has been a part-time competitor since. Fisher Jr. has 143 series starts with one series victory, which was at Angola Motor Speedway in 2011. Fisher Jr. is second in all-time Vore’s Welding CRA Late Model Sportsman wins with 12.


Former CRA regular Jason Shively, also a Ft. Wayne native, is entered to make his first series start since the 2010 season. Shively was a regular with the series from 2005 through the 2010 season making 96 starts, his best ever finish with the series was a second at Anderson Speedway in 2008.


Derek Bischak is entered, he has competed in selected Vore’s Welding CRA late Model Sportsman events in seasons past, but has two ARCA/CRA Super Series starts, the last one was in 2009 were he finished third at Angola Motor Speedway.


Tanner Jack, younger brother of Hunter Jack and son of former series competitor Brent Jack, is entered to make his series debut on Saturday. Tanner made his Vore’s Welding CRA Late Model Sportsman debut on July 14th at Anderson Speedway were he finished in eighth place.


A new Chase format to determine a series champion was first successfully used in all CRA divisions in 2017 and is being used again for the 2018 season. Similar to the top levels of racing now and all major sports, CRA will utilize a regular season of events to determine those who are eligible to compete in the post season Chase for a championship. Saturday’s Summit City 100 is the last regular season event before the final four Chase events to determine the 2018 series Champion.


Prior to the start of the final four races, the top eight teams in wins (then points) that have attended 70% of the ARCA/CRA Super Series events are eligible for the Chase. The series events at Kalamazoo Speedway on August 8th , Winchester Speedway on September 3rd and Toledo Speedway on September 15th will determine the final four teams that will race in the October 14th Winchester 400 for the 2018 series Championship. Prior to the Winchester 400 the top four Chase Teams in wins (the points) during the three Chase events prior will be the final four to compete for the Championship.


Brock and Kunert with their victories and participation are already locked into the top eight teams to start the Chase. Right now Jack, Beach, Runyon, Van Alst, and car owner Eddie Van Meter are also currently eligible for the Chase by points.


There will be an open practice at Baer Field Motorsports Park this Friday, pits open at 4pm and practice will run from 5pm until 8pm. Pits open on Saturday at 11:30am. Practice will begin at 1:30pm with qualifying starting at 4pm. The race program will begin at 6pm on Saturday and will include the Summit City 100 for the ARCA/CRA Super Series. Also in action will be the Baer Field Modifieds, Late Models, Street Stocks, Outlaw FWD’s and Stock FWD’s.


More event information or information on Baer Field Motorsports Park is available at


More information on the ARCA/CRA Super Series is available at


-CRA Press Release

-Photo credit:

Baer Field Last Up Before ARCA/CRA Super Series Championship Chase