FAYETTEVILLE, TN—In 1983 then short track racer/promoter B J Parker got a group of drivers from all over the southeast to commit to a series of races that he was promoting at several dirt tracks across the south, when one of the drivers asked him what it was going to be called he said the Southern All Stars, then he asked why that name, all these guys are all stars in their regions or tracks in their area and we are in the south so why not Southern All Stars.

Thus the beginning of a 31 year journey, that has seen 655 events , 163 different winners in those events and 20 series champions that includes names like Don Hester of Tupelo, MS., Jerry Inmon of Bruce, MS., Ronnie Johnson of Chattanooga, TN., Jeff Purvis of Clarksville, TN., Rex Richey of Ringgold, GA., James Cline of Oxford, AL., Mike Head of Ellenwood, GA., Clint Smith of Senoia, GA., Dale McDowell of Chickamauga, GA., Marshall Green of Dalton, GA., Mark Miner of Stockbridge, GA., Roger Best of Maryville, TN., Jamie Perry of Chattanooga, TN., Duayne Hommel of Newport, TN., Shane Tankersley of Morganton, GA., Chris Madden of Gray Court, SC., Ivedent Lloyd of Ocala, FL., Randy Waver of Crossville, TN., Billy Ogle Jr of Knoxville, TN and last years champion Riley Hickman of  Cleveland, TN., all these drivers have won the series championship and most of them are still racing some on the national tours and others still are with the series and will come back to run with the Southern All Stars every chance they get.

Those series of events and all those races that have been run are where we are at now as Saturday night June 21st at the Talladega Short Track will honor the founder of the Southern All Star Racing Series with the 2014 edition of the B J Parker Memorial 42 lap $4,200 to win event.  This will be the 87th series event at the 1/3 mile clay oval and race number eight for the 2014 season.  Three time series Randy Weaver took the win least year in the first Annual event that was held after Parker passed away after a battle with breast cancer.

The current roster of drivers battling for the champion in 2014 would maker Parker proud as the top five drivers in series points are only separated by 108 points coming into the Talladega event.  Riley Hickman is on top of the standings still, but Josh Putnam of Florence, AL., made his move toward the front after last weeks race at Volunteer as he moved into the second spot, but the big mover was Todd Morrow of East Ridge, TN., who has another strong top five finish at Volunteer jumped from 5th to third in the standings, while Dylan Ames of Harvest, AL., has a tough night on his first visit to Volunteer and fell from second to fourth in the standings, while current Cruise with the Champions/Dirt On Dirt Rookie of the Year leader Chris Wilson of Crossville, TN.,  continues with his consistent runs of late and is slowly working his way up the five.  All of these drivers are expected to be In action Saturday night.

Drivers from across the area that are expected to compete include Joe Armistead of Senoia, GA., Lavon Sparks of Phenix City, AL., Mark Green of Rogersville, AL., Aaron Ridley of Chatsworth, GA., Jake Knowles of Tyrone, GA., Tony Knowles of Tyrone, GA., Tim Roszell of Anniston, AL., Dillon Crim of Talladega, AL., Tim Busha of Boaz, AL., Carlton Freeman of Eastaboga, AL., Danny Peoples of Margaret, AL., Chris Thomas of Waco, GA., Skip Freeman of Pell City, AL., Ted Lackey of Munford, AL., Ross Martin of Talladega, AL., Chase Edge of Penton, AL., plus many more.

The Southern All Star Dirt Racing Series program will consist of White Performance Qualifying Groups A & B, PPM Racing Products B Mains, and a 42 lap feature event.

TIRE RULE: Hoosier 1350, 1450, 1600,21,55,70, Lucas 03, 05, 06, M30S, M40

B J PARKER MEMORIAL PAYOFF:1.$4,200; 2.$2,000;
3.$1,000; 4.$750; 5.$650; 6.$550; 7.$525; 8.$500; 9.$450; 10.$425; 11.$420; 12.$415; 13.$410; 14.$405; 15.$400; 16.$400; 17.$400; 18.$400; 19.$400; 20.$400; 21.$400; 22.$400; 23.$400; 24.$400

For more information on the Southern All Stars Dirt Racing Series can be obtained by calling General Manager Lynn Acklin at (256) 924-4546, [email protected]  or you can log on to the official series website at www.sasdirt.com . Also, LIKE the Southern All Stars Dirt Racing Series on Facebook or be a FOLLOWER on Twitter @SASDIRT or www.talladegahshorttrack.com  or on Twitter @tsthornetsnest

Current Southern All Star Racing Series Top Ten Point Standings: 1.Riley Hickman 650; 2.Josh Putnam 560; 3.Todd Morrow 550; 4.Dylan Ames 548; 5.Chris Wilson 542; 6.Bo Shirley 372; 7.Joe Armistead 342; 8.Jason Hiett 286; 9.Brandon Kinzer 242; 10.Billy Ogle Jr 236

Cruise With the Champions/DirtonDirt.com Rookie of the Year Point Standings: 1.Chris Wilson 178; 2.Dylan Ames 172; 3.Mark Gant 91; 4.Cale Finley 69;

Southern All Star Racing Series 2014 Event Winners:

March 22-Riley Hickman-Boyd’s Speedway
March 29-Joe Armistead-East Alabama Motor Speedway
April 26-Billy Ogle Jr-Smoky Mt Speedway
May 3-Todd Morrow-Talladega Short Track
May 17-Waycross Motor Speedway-Ivedent Lloyd
May 24-Tennessee National Raceway-Todd Morrow
June 14-Volunteer Speedway-Brad Neat

Upcoming Southern All Star Racing Series Events:

June 21-Talladega Short Track-Eastaboga, AL,-$4,200
July 19-Magnolia Motor Speedway-Columbus, MS-$4,000

Series PR – Photo from Series Facebook

B J Parker Memorial Next Up For SAS At Talladega