Clary’s Speedway will host the Carolina Clash Super Late Model Series for the first time in eight years this coming Saturday Night at the 3/10 mile oval located near Littleton, NC, in the rural community of Brinklyville, NC. The last time the Carolina Clash visited Clary’s was on June 28, 2008 when Ray Tucker captured the checkered-flag in the 26-car field. Prior to that event, Booper Bare captured the win on May 28, 2006 in a thrilling last-lap pass over Jack Pennington.

Clary’s Speedway, traditionally a Friday night venue, is a 3/10 mile oval, dirt track located in Brinkleyville, NC. Clary’s Speedway is also known as “The Ring Of Fire” and hosts racing in Late Model, Open Wheel Modified, Super Street, Super Stock Four Cylinder, Pure Stock V-8, and Pure Stock Four Cylinder divisions from April through October. The track is owned by JC Clary and currently being managed by Brenda & Jimmy Holcombe.

The series will move to Fayetteville Motor Speedway on August 9, 2014 for the third race of the season there. Luke Roffers took top honors in the second event of 2014 at Fayetteville. Jonathan Davenport picked up the win at the Ed Gibbons Memorial Race in April, in a surprise visit by the K&L Rumley #6 AES Racing Longhorn top Fayetteville, the second in a row at that time. However, Davenport has not competed with Clash since.

The final race of the regular points season will take place at Carolina Speedway in Gastonia, NC on Tuesday, August 12, 2014, at the 42nd running of the fan favorite Gaston County Shrine Benefit Race.

Recently, three different names have taken wins in the Carolina Clash over the previous four races. Chris Ferguson captured two wins in a row in the late spring, while Billy Ogle and Luke Roffers have each captured wins.

Atop the point standings for the Carolina Clash are two drivers still looking for their first wins of the season.

Kennie Compton and Kyle Pierce are first and second in the regular season points and know these final three races in the regular season are most important to prepare them for the championship chase.

Compton enjoys a 20 point advantage over Kyle Pierce, with Johnny Pursley and Zack Mitchell tied for third, 33 points back. Scott Shirey rounds out the top five in points. Sixth through tenth is Rookie of the Year point leader Jonathan Edwards with 219 points, over Dennis Franklin, Anthony Sanders, Brandon Overton and Kevin Wilson.

Compton has been without checkers since July 2013 at Madison, NC and was the recipient of the Safety-Kleen Hard Luck Award at Bulls Gap, his third such award of the season.

The 2014 Rookie Class features a few familiar faces to Clash racing in eastern NC, none of which has ever carded a Carolina Clash win. Lake Wylie, SC driver Jonathan Edwards is planning the trip to Clary’s to extend his Renegade Race Fuels is the title sponsor of the Rookie-of-the-Year honors in 2014. Anthony Sanders of Spartanburg, SC is currently second in rookie points.

The rookie of the year point battle is a good one with three drivers within five points of each.

Edwards – 219

Sanders – 203

Damon Kotke is the defending rookie of the year and plans to be in action at Clary’s Speedway.

Others within the top 10 in points who have indicated a plan to race at Clary’s are Kyle Pierce, Scott Shirey, including Brown Summit, NC driver Steve Blackburn, who was strong at Fayetteville in April.

In addition to the Carolina Clash Super Late Models, the Clary’s racing program will include weekly racing in four other divisions. Pit gates will open at 4:00pm, with grandstand gates opening at 5:00pm. Hot laps will begin at 7:00pm.

Carolina Clash PR & Photo

2014 Carolina Clash Series Points

Kennie Compton, Jr. 272
Kyle Pierce 252
Johnny Pursley 239
Zack Mitchell 239
Scott Shirey 225
Jonathan Edwards – R 219
Dennis Franklin 211
Anthony Sanders – R 203
Brandon Overton – R 191
Kevin Wilson 184
Mike Gault 170
Ricky Weeks 164
Doug Sanders 139
Chris Ferguson 119
Luke Roffers 103
Dustin Mitchell 86
Tim Allen 84
Jonathan Davenport 72
Kevin Godwin 68
Vic Hill 63


August Heats Up In Carolina Clash With Five Races on Deck