Twenty-four Great Northern Sportsman Series cars came to the green flag paced by Chris Weber and Matt Lundberg.  The caution flag came out on lap 2 when the car of Jason Dunn spun in turn two. Weber maintained his lead after the restart with Lundberg in pursuit.  Working his way up through the field was Bill Prietzel who moved into third on lap 5 and was up to challenge Lundberg before the caution flag waved when Tim Coley’s car slowed with a flat tire.

Weber was able to lead for another lap before being overtaken by Prietzel on lap 7 before Michael Gilomen brought out the caution on the backstretch.  Prietzel increased his lead on the restart with Weber in second followed by Ryan Goldade, Jake Arneson, and Don Wickstrum.  On lap 10 the caution flag came out for an incident on the backstretch that ended Kody Hubred’s night.

Prietzel was off the pace on the restart allowing both Weber and Arneson to take the top two spots.  Goldade moved into second on lap 13 and worked his way to the outside of Weber as the two traded paint going down the front stretch as they battled for the lead.

Everything broke loose on lap 15 when Weber and Goldade made contact in turn four sending Goldade spinning and bringing out the caution flag. As a result Weber was sent to the back giving the lead to Arneson followed by Devin Schmidt,  Dusty Mann, Mike Taylor, and Chad Smith.

Arneson continued to lead after the restart as the top five remained the same.  Despite another caution flag for a spin, Arneson was able to maintain his advantage and make his first-ever visit to MIS a good one as he picked up the win.  Schmidt finished second followed by Mann, Taylor and Jason Thoma.

Chris Weber and Don Wickstrum won the six lap dash races.  Michael Gilomen and Rick Johnson won the eight lap qualifying heats.

Series PR – Photo provided by Series

Arneson tops Great Northern Sportsman MIS Field