Elko/New Market, MN – The Thunderstruck 93 is not just another event on the ARCA Midwest Tour presented by SCAG Power Equipment schedule, it’s a race with a special meaning behind it. The event itself supports “A Race Worth Winning – ALS”, a non-profit organization that helps raise awareness and money for ALS research.


This event started in 2009 to honor longtime track champion Dan Ryan who piloted his #93 around Elko Speedway en route to championships and victories. Sadly, Dan Ryan battled ALS until his passing on January 2, 2009.


The ninth running of this event will take place this Saturday, September 23rd at Elko Speedway in Elko, Minnesota.


300x250 51 Network 2017(2)In the eight previous events, Dan Fredrickson has one this event five times. Jacob Goede, Andrew Morrissey and Ty Majeski each have a victory.


For Fredrickson, a sixth victory would be special because of his personal relationship with Ryan.


“My feeling going into this race, is still the same as the first one,” Fredrickson said. “This race used to put a lot of stress on me cause I wanted to win this race so bad every year. But I want to enjoy the weekend and remember my good friend Dan Ryan. Elko Speedway has been like my worst track in the last five years, but when it comes time to race this event, there is a lot of ambition shows up for this race.”


Jacob Goede comes into this weekend just wrapping up his fourth Elko Speedway championship by winning two features last Saturday night. He is looking for his second victory while he plans on competing in the Thunderstruck 93 and the Big 8 Series event.


“I’m feeling really good about the Big 8 car, but feel behind with the Super Late model because I haven’t been in it much,” Goede explained. “Only good thing is we are going to Elko, and I sort of know what I want at least, so hopefully we can get close.”


One driver hoping to etch his name in the Thunderstruck 93 record book is Ricky Baker. Baker is coming to Elko Speedway after defending his Tony Bettenhausen 100 victory this past Saturday night at Grundy County Speedway.


“We won the Bettenhausen last year then went to Elko where I think we were fourth fast off the trailer in first practice and then the motor went south,” Baker recalled. “I think if the car holds up, we’ll be up front at Elko and continue to end the season on a strong note.”


Another driver to watch for is current ARCAMT Rookie contender Michael Ostdiek. Ostdiek recently won three features at Elko Speedway and is currently in a tight battle for the Kulwicki Driver Development Program competition. A win for Ostdiek could help him win both the KDDP and ARCAMT Rookie of the Year.


Current ARCAMT point leader Ty Majeski plans to come to Elko Speedway after competing in the ARCA Racing Series event on Friday night at Kentucky Speedway in Sparta, Kentucky. Majeski currently holds a 225-point lead over Paul Shafer Jr. in the standings. With a maximum of 118 points available at each ARCAMT event, Majeski could wrap-up his fourth consecutive title this Saturday night.


The Ninth Annual Thunderstruck 93 will be a 125-lap event with 10-minute breaks at laps 39 and 93. The Big 8 Series will have a 58-lap feature along with the Thunder Cars, Power Stockes and Legends also in action.


Spectator gates open at 2:30pm with qualifying at 4:15pm and Racing at 6pm. An on-track auto autograph session starts at 2:45pm.


Make your plans now to be part of this special event!


Visit midwesttour.racing for the full schedule and be sure to follow the ARCA Midwest Tour presented by SCAG Power Equipment on Facebook (/midwesttour) and Twitter (@midwesttour).


ARCA Midwest Tour presented by SCAG Power Equipment
Thunderstruck 93 (125-laps)
Saturday, September 23, 2017
Elko Speedway, Elko, MN

Entry List (26 as of 9/18/17)

Car #

Name Hometown State


John DeAngelis, Jr Hubertus WI


Paul Shafer, Jr Portage IN


Billy Mohn New Market MN


Derek Kraus Stratford WI


Nick Murgic Rosemount MN


Austin Nason Roscoe IL


Michael Ostdiek Lakeville MN


Paul Paine Mound MN


Travis Dassow West Bend WI


Dan Fredrickson Lakeville MN


Andrew Morrissey DeForest WI


Dennis Prunty Knowles WI


Matt Kocourek Franklin WI


Justin Mondeik Gleason WI


Steve Anderson Lakeville MN


Ricky Baker Plainfield IL


Rich Schumann, Jr Portage WI


John Heath Lakeville MN


Jacob Goede Carver MN


Chris Weinkauf Merrill WI


Joel Theisen Maple Grove MN


Jason Weinkauf Merrill WI


Jonathan Eilen Hampton MN


Bryan Keske Lakeville MN


Ty Majeski Seymour WI


Dalton Zehr Daytona Beach FL



-ARCA Midwest Tour Press Release

-Photo Credit: FastLapPhoto.com/ARCA Midwest Tour

ARCA MT Thunderstruck 93 at Elko More Than Just a Race