Another Three Drivers Invited to Speed51 Super Select

With less than a month remaining until the inaugural Speed51 Super Select at Lucas Oil Raceway (IN) on September 7, another trio of Super Late Model All-Stars have been invited to the winner-take-all event.


After being postponed in September 2018 due to the effects of Tropical Storm Gordon, the stage is set for the $10,000-to-win event sanctioned by the ARCA/CRA Super Series this September.  The list of invitees to the race now increases to 25 with three more top-notch racers receiving their invitations.


Casey Johnson – The two-time Big 8 Late Model champion has a pair of ARCA Midwest Tour wins this season at Jefferson Speedway (WI) and Rockford Speedway (IL).  Johnson also scored the win in the Dells Icebreaker at Dells Raceway Park (WI) in April to get his season started on the right foot.


D.J. Shaw – The three-time and defending Pro All Stars Series (PASS) North champion is well on his way to defending that crown in 2019, with three wins and the series points lead to his credit so far in 2019.  One of those wins came in the Icebreaker at Thompson Speedway Motorsports Park (CT), counting towards the PASS National Championship chase.


Casey Roderick – Last year’s Southern Super Series Champion started the year with a pair of marquee Pro Late Model wins in the CRA SpeedFest Pro Late Model 125 and the Pro Late Model Rattler 125.  Roderick recently added a Show Me the Money Pro Late Model Series win at Montgomery Motor Speedway (AL) to his 2019 mantle.


A pair of features will be contested on September 7, one for the Super Late Models and a 100-lap race for the USAC Silver Crown Series.  There will also be a 50-lap Super Late Model race that will be open to all drivers to compete in.  That race will transfer more drivers into the Super Select field.


The full list of drivers currently invited to the Speed51 Super Select can be found below.


Current Speed51 Super Select Invitees


Josh Brock – 2019 North/South SLM Challenge

Giovanni Bromante – 2019 Rattler 250

Harrison Burton – 2018 Rattler 250

Kyle Busch – 2018 SRL Winter Showdown

Brian Campbell – 2019 Money in the Bank 150

Jeff Choquette – 2018 Winchester 400

Cassius Clark – 2019 IWK 250

Matt Craig – SSS Rumble by the River 125

Noah Gragson – 2018 Snowball Derby

Derek Griffith – 2019 Orange Blossom 100/PASS Wins

Casey Johnson – Two ARCA Midwest Tour wins

Matt Kenseth – 2019 Slinger Nationals

Eddie MacDonald – 2019 PASS at New Hampshire Motor Speedway

Ty Majeski – 2019 SRL Winter Showdown

Austin Nason – 2019 Father’s Day 100 at Milwaukee

Stephen Nasse – 2019 Short Track U.S. Nationals

Connor Okrzesik – 2019 CRA SpeedFest

Preston Peltier – 2019 Summer Showdown

Bubba Pollard – 2018 Oxford 250

Owen Riddle – 2019 Montana 200

Casey Roderick – Show Me the Money Winner

D.J. Shaw – Three PASS North wins

Derek Thorn – 2019 SRL wins at Las Vegas and Madera

Johnny VanDoorn – 2019 Redbud 400

Brett Yackey – 2018 Kulwicki Driver Development Program Champion


-Story by: Zach Evans, Southeast Editor – Twitter: @ztevans

-Photo credit: photo

Another Three Drivers Invited to Speed51 Super Select