The Super DIRTcar Series Ground Pounder 100 at Sharon Speedway featured a bunch of mini races within the main race. In the beginning Brett Hearn appeared to have the field covered. Then Stewart Friesen chased him down and took the lead. Later on Matt Sheppard got the top spot and drove away from the field. But when it was all over and the dust settled, an Australian was celebrating in victory lane in Ohio.


On one of the race’s many restarts, Peter Britten used the inside lane to take the lead from Matt Sheppard. Sheppard tried to fight back, but Britten held off his advances.


300x250 Dixieland 250 2017.08.01Then Erick Rudolph moved into second and tried to chase down Britten. Then it was Friesen who got into second and had a couple of restarts to try to duel with Britten.


In the end, Britten was able to sail his sponsorless No. 21A into the corners all alone to take his first career Super DIRTcar Series victory by 2.65 seconds over Erick Rudolph.


“It’s pretty amazing,” said Britten. “This is our first win, and words can’t describe the feeling.  I really had to earn this one, but we had a great race car. It’s just amazing to be here. We passed pretty much every good car there is to pass, so it feels amazing and hopefully we can get some more too.”


Britten drove from the 20th position to the lead by lap 55. He had to pass the likes of Hearn, Larry Wight, Tim Fuller, Jimmy Phelps, Matt Sheppard and more.


“Starting on the pole and winning one of these things is damn near impossible, but having to pass all of those good guys, well I never would have imagined that I’d end up here,” Britten said.  “We had a bad-ass car, but we were off in time-trials a bit and that’s what put us down the order.”


While Britten’s first win will be the talk of the Super DIRTcar Series pits for a while, Friesen’s charge through the field was a sight to see as well. Friesen took the lead from Hearn on lap 24, but the caution came out one lap later and he abandoned the lead for pit road.


Friesen started at the rear of the field and quickly worked his way back through to the front. “Mr. Freeze” made it as high as second before having to settle for third when Rudolph got back by him with just a few laps remaining.


“I was pissed off,” said Friesen. “We had a great race car and Brett was just taking up a lot of race track. I thought he’d give me a lane up at the top but we didn’t so we cut down a tire. We had a good car and we were able to come through, but we used it up there at the end because the top was about burned off.”


Friesen ran three races in three nights in the state of Ohio. He finished sixth in the 75-lap Super DIRTcar Series feature at Eldora Speedway on Tuesday night, then finished second to Matt Crafton in the NASCAR Camping World Truck Series race at Eldora on Wednesday. Even after running up front in all three races as long as he did, Friesen is leaving the Buckeye state empty-handed.


“You’re damn right it’s frustrating,” Friesen said.  “It’s tough, especially when you have good cars. It just is what it is, man. We’ll keep on racing.”


The Super DIRTcar Series will return to action in Canada at the Autodrome Drummond on July 24th. powered by JEGS will have more from Thursday night’s race at Sharon Speedway including full video highlights on the Speed51 Video network on Friday. To subscribe to the Speed51 Video Network, click here.


For an on-demand replay of Thursday night’s Trackside Now coverage presented by PFC Brakes, click here.


-By Rob Blount, Southeast Editor – Twitter: @RobBlount

-Photo Credit:


Super DIRTcar Series Ground Pounder 100

Sharon Speedway, Sharon, Ohio

Unofficial Results

Pos # Driver
1 21a Peter Britten
2 25R Erick Rudolph
3 44 Stewart Friesen
4 91 Billy Decker
5 42p Pat Ward
6 99L Larry Wight
7 6H Max McLaughlin
8 109 Billy Whittaker
9 20 Brett Hearn
10 9s Matt Sheppard
11 19 Tim Fuller
12 83 Brian Swartzlander
13 98H Jimmy Phelps
14 22 Brandon Walters
15 8 Rich Scagliotta
16 165 Rex King, Jr
17 14 CG Morey
18 9 Will Thomas
19 13 Rick Regalski
20 29e Erik Martin
21 32 Jim Rasey
22 14w Ryan Watt
23 00 Rob Kristyak
24 7m Mike Maresca
25 18b Dave Blaney
26 43 Keith Flach
27 777 Kevin Bolland
28 65 Rex King
29 35 Frank Cozze
30 6m Mat Williamson
31 37md Jeremiah Shingledecker


An Australian Claims First Super DIRTcar Win in Buckeye State