ORRVILLE, Ohio — After missing the main event on Sunday night at Millstream Speedway, finishing sixth during the evening’s C-main, St. Helena, California’s Rico Abreu made an impressive rebound and nearly swept round four of Ohio Sprint Speedweek presented by Cometic Gasket at Wayne County Speedway in Orrville, Ohio. Abreu earned victories during his respective heat race and dash on Monday evening at Wayne County, all before leading all 30 circuits of the feature program. The $5,000 Ohio Sprint Speedweek presented by Cometic Gasket victory was the fourth Arctic Cat All Star Circuit of Champions win of his career, going back-to-back at Wayne County Speedway in 2016.


“I just love being a part of this team. It’s all about preparation and these guys certainly make that happen,” explained Rico Abreu. “I love to watch my guys work. Even after a tough night like last night, they stayed focused and knew what they had to do to turn things around. Really glad to be up here again. Wayne County Speedway reminds me so much of racing back home.”


Rico Abreu took command of the feature field immediately after the initial green flag, winning the drag race into turns one and two with Andrew Palker and Jac Haudenschild in tow. The 30-lap main event was halted five times, two of which for red flag conditions during the first five circuits. Despite the frequent cautions, and a needed fuel stop on lap 22, Abreu kept his pace on the point, never feeling pressure from those racing behind him. Kyle Larson, who started third on the feature grid, maintained a top-five running position the entire distance, eventually finishing second at the checkers. Sheldon Haudenschild finished third, followed by fifth row starter Danny Holtgraver and California native Carson Macedo.


“I’m just so comfortable here,” said Rico Abreu. “The turns were completely different here tonight. It really reminds me of Tulare back home in California. My style really fits this place. I’m just really happy for my team. I think we are all excited to get back to this place.”


Night five of the 34th edition of Ohio Sprint Speedweek presented by Cometic Gasket will be contested at the Sharon Speedway in Hartford, Ohio, on Tuesday evening, June 21. Local favorite and defending Arctic Cat All Star Circuit of Champions titlist Dale Blaney is the defending event winner, scoring $5,000 over a pair of Aussie invaders. James McFadden finished second in 2015, followed by Jamie Veal.


-All Star Circuit of Champions Press Release

-Photo Credit:Vince Vellella

Abreu Dominates at Wayne County for Ohio Speedweek Win