Abold Crushes The Classic Competition at Star

Jeff Abold crushed the competition all afternoon, winning the Bob Webber Sr. Memorial 125 at the 54th Annual Star Classic at Star Speedway (NH) Saturday night.  It is Abold’s first ISMA Supermodified win, and he becomes the seventh different winner in seven ISMA races this season.

“We’ve been fast so many times we’ve come here but just come up short,” Abold said in Victory Lane.  “We worked real hard, this was a race we had circled on the calendar all year long since last year, and we worked hard to get back to this point.  I’m so proud of my guys for what they’ve been able to do here.  That was so much fun.”

Abold was the fastest car throughout the day, topping all but one practice or qualifying session leading up to the start of the race.  He was the first and only driver of the day to post a time in the 10-second bracket, but the top-12 qualifying re-draw saw him start tenth.

He immediately started making moves up through the field, breaking into the top five on Lap 30.  He took the lead on Lap 45 and never looked back, lapping up to sixth place by the end of the race.

“This was just go,” Abold said.  “I had to start deep in the field and I knew I had to make up ground.  There were so many fast guys in the front, guys that have won this race so many times and I knew I had to go make up spots early.  We tested and tested to see how this thing would be in the race and it went right according to plan, how I thought it would be.  Right from the drop of the green I knew I had a fast race car and I knew I could do it.”

All-time series wins leader Chris Perley brought his car home to a strong second-place finish, but a car issue kept him from catching Abold for the win.

“Yeah, Abold was really strong,” Perley said.  “I thought that we were going to be able to get something on him mid-race, but my rear end is broken.  Luckily [the oil] didn’t all come out at once but it soaked my tires down and made it a mess.  Really happy to finish a race, the last couple weeks have been tough on us.  Second here is great, I love running at Star.”

Defending race winner Jon McKennedy had a strong run, but did not quite have the right setup on the car and therefore could finish no higher than third.

“Yeah, it was a decent run, started seventh and ended up third,” McKennedy said after the race.  “We were hanging on, we were loose the whole race.  Tough deal, but overall it was a good day.  Obviously I would have liked to win, but we just came up a short, and congratulations to Jeffrey there, he was hooked up.  He went by me and I knew I was racing for second at that point.”

Defending series champion Kyle Edwards brought his No. 1E home in fourth, and Mike Ordway Jr came home fifth despite a mangled front wing that severely affected the handling of his car.

Mark Sammut, Mike Lichty, Joe Gosek, Otto Sitterly, and Russ Wood rounded out the top ten.

Full results, updates, and more can be found on Speed51.com’s Race Day Now coverage.

The next and final race for the 2019 ISMA Supermodifieds campaign is Sunday, October 13, as part of the World Series of Speedway Racing at Thompson Speedway Motorsports Park (CT).  The ISMA Supers will run a 50-lap shootout to decide their 2019 champion.

Story by Ian Pettigrew, Speed51.com Northeast Correspondent – Twitter: @ian_pettigrew

Photo: Speed51.com photo



ISMA Supermodified Bob Webber Sr. Memorial 125 – Full Results


1          05        Jeff Abold

2          11        Chris Perley                  4.940

3          21        Jon McKennedy           9.875

4          1E        Kyle Edwards             11.852

5          61        Mike Ordway, Jr.        12.327

6          78        Mark Sammut               1 Lap

7          84        Mike Lichty                   1 Lap

8          00        Joe Gosek                     1 Lap

9          6          Otto Sitterly                   1 Lap

10        97        Russ Wood                   1 Lap

11        37        Ryan Locke                   2 Laps

12        9          Jeffrey Battle                 2 Laps

13        27        Jamie Timmons             4 Laps

14        25        Dan Bowes                 17 Laps

15        15        Mike Muldoon            51 Laps

16        29        Bobby Chartier            58 Laps

17        28        Eric Lewis                   60 Laps

18        32        Ben Seitz                     89 Laps

19        98        Tyler Thompson          89 Laps

Abold Crushes The Classic Competition at Star