Kingsport, TN – One of the largest crowds of the season was present for Food City Night at the Races at Kingsport Speedway on Friday, and they were treated to a great NASCAR Whelen All-American Series racing program at “The Concrete Jungle.”


After getting caught up in a wreck last week which badly damaged his race car, resulting in many hours spent back in the shop to repair the equipment, Kres VanDyke of Abingdon, Va., was a man on a mission and he made a statement with a dominating performance by capturing his sixth “First Kingsport Credit Union” Late Model Stock Car victory of the season.


Wayne Hale paced the 16-car field in qualifying with a fast-lap at 15.157 seconds, with VanDyke second quickest at 15.185. But the roll of the dice produced an invert of the top six cars from time trials, which put Lee Tissot on the pole and Tyler Goodwin on the outside of the front row for the 60-lap main event.


Tissot grabbed the lead on the start over Goodwin and Zeke Shell, with two- and three-wide action back through the field. VanDyke got around Ronnie McCarty for fourth place on lap 5 racing off the fourth turn.


Tissot had moved out to about a seven car length advantage over Goodwin, Shell and VanDyke at the lap 10 mark. VanDyke passed Shell to take over third in the running order on lap 16, and just two circuits later a tough break for Goodwin when the right front tire on his car suddenly went flat between turns three and four which resulted in hard contact with the outside concrete wall to end a strong run and bring out the event’s only caution flag.


The double-file restart had Tissot and defending track champion VanDyke on the front row, with Shell and McCarty lined up side-by-side in the second row. Back under green VanDyke powered ahead of Tissot to take the lead, while Shell and McCarty battled for third before current points leader McCarty settled into the position.


What began for Shell as a good race quickly began going bad, when engine issues saw him lose positions to both Hale and Justin Fontaine just before halfway.


But out front the race belonged to VanDyke, who steadily built his advantage over second-running Tissot to right at a full straightaway with 10 laps remaining. But a bad break for Tissot with only three laps to the finish when the engine in his car suffered issues and sent him slowly into the pits.


The 34-year-old VanDyke, driving the Service Fuel Inc./Pizza Plus/Burger King/Wheel Chill/AR Bodies/Hy-Tec Specialty Coatings/RW Race Engines/Townsend Oliver Racing Performance (TORP Chassis)/Pro Image Graphics/No. 15 Chevrolet SS, cruised to his sixth Late Model Stock Car win over McCarty, Hale, Fontaine and a solid fifth place finish for Taylor Coffman.


Completing the top 10 finishers were Robbie Ferguson, Shell, Austin Peters, Joey Trent and Allen Hawkins.


Robbie Allison jumped out to the lead over Paul Shull of Church Hill at start of the Street Stock feature followed by Jared Broadbent. But the 74-year-old veteran Shull, who raced several years in the former NASCAR Busch Series, passed Allison for a lead he would never relinquish on the fourth lap of a race that would run all 30 laps caution free.


Once out front Shull began clicking off perfect laps around the .375-mile banked concrete oval, and down the closing stretch of the event neither Broadbent or current points leader John Harrell could mount a serious charge to overtake Shull. With the victory, Shull becomes the oldest driver to ever win at Kingsport Speedway and was followed by Broadbent, Harrell, Royce Peters and Allison.


For Billy Byington of Kingsport, the taste of victory is sweet following his first-ever Pure 4 feature win. The caution waved twice in the opening 10 laps of the event for separate incidents involving points leader Billy Ketron and Kenny Absher, along with Chris Neeley and Kevin Darnell. Looking strong running out front, Byington was pressured by Keith Helton over the final five circuits but held on to take the victory over Helton, Jason Ketron, Absher and John Ketron.


Kirby Gobble of Abingdon, Va., rolled to his third Mod 4 feature win over Billy Duty, Hershell Robinette, Darrell Whitehead and James Deese.


Marty Tunnell of Wise, Va., came back strong this week to record his second Pure Street win of the season over Nasty Jones, Jeremy Draughn, Hershell Robinette and Gary Crumbley.


Dwayne Banks of Kingsport captured his third Rookie Pure 4 victory and in the process also padded his points lead. Chasing Banks to the checkers were Chris Wilhelm, Wes Fields, Craig Phelps and Daniel McMurray.






1. Kres VanDyke #15-Abingdon, VA

2. Ronnie McCarty #5-Kingsport, TN

3. Wayne Hale #19-Bluff City, TN

4. Justin Fontaine #60-Fletcher, NC

5. Taylor Coffman #30-Bean Station, TN
6. Robbie Ferguson #31-Jonesborough, TN

7. Zeke Shell #97-Johnson City, TN

8. Austin Peters #66-Kingsport, TN

9. Joey Trent #26-Gray, TN

10. Allen Hawkins #14-Kingsport, TN
11. Lee Tissot #7-Asheville, NC

12. Rick Pannell #33-Kingsport, TN

13. Jamie Harrison #76-Church Hill, TN

14. Tyler Goodwin #64-Kingsport, TN

15. Jared Broadbent #74-Bakersville, NC
16. John Ketron #5-Kingsport, TN

STREET STOCK (30 laps)


1. Paul Shull #48

2. Jared Broadbent #74

3. John Harrell #19

4. Royce Peters #48

5. Robbie Allison #12

6. Dennis Deese #24

7. Danny Casteel #41


PURE 4 (25 laps)


1. Billy Byington #01

2. Keith Helton #74

3. Jason Ketron #28

4. Kenny Absher #11

5. John Ketron #27

6. Tim Abelseth #66

7. Brandon Sutherland #5

8. Dylan Bates #6

9. Billy Ketron #26

10. David Trent #57

11. Richard Quillen #15

12. Todd Cross #41

13. Kevin Darnell #4

14. Chris Neeley #94

15. Tim Jennings #16

MOD 4 (20 laps)


1. Kirby Gobble #77

2. Billy Duty #45

3. Hershell Robinette #9

4. Darrell Whitehead #43

5. James Deese #25

6. Chris Amburgey #7

7. Jessie Amburgey #17

8. Worley Glover #44

9. Dennis Arnold #7


PURE STREET (20 laps)


1. Marty Tunnell #99

2. Nasty Jones #13

3. Jeremy Draughn #60

4. Hershell Robinette #9

5. Gary Crumbley #59

6. Travis Stoots #0

7. Brandon Sutherland #52


ROOKIE PURE 4 (20 laps)


1. Dwayne Banks #4

2. Chris Wilhelm #99

3. Wes Fields #11

4. Craig Phelps #00

5. Daniel McMurray #0

6. Jonathan Stidham #86

7. Dennis Stanley #21

8. Alexcia Ray #99

9. William Hale #47

10. Larry Stapleton #15

11. Chris Hill #55

12. Robert Smith #1

13. Robert Young #59

14. Larry Bowens #18

Did Not Start: Ben Barker #54

Story By: Robert Walden PR

Photo Credit: Randall Perry

A Six-Pack Now for VanDyke at Mini-Thunder Valley