A Look at Who’s Ineligible for the Short Track Draft

The ballot of 2021 Speed51 Short Track Draft prospects was unveiled last week, a cast of young, rising stars across the short track world.  However, several marquee drivers are no longer on the list as a result of the requirements to be on the Short Track Draft ballot.

Several standout short-track racers are no longer eligible for the Speed51 Short Track Draft presented by RYNO.

To recap, requirements for the Short Track Draft are as follows:

  • 25 years or younger as of April 1, 2021
  • Maintain rookie status in NASCAR’s top-three series
  • Have less than eight races scheduled in NASCAR’s top-three series


Thus, there will be a fresh look for much of this year’s draft results, with several top names from the 2020 Short Track Draft board no longer eligible.


As always, the number-one pick from the Short Track Draft is removed from the ballot.  Last year, that honor went to Sam Mayer, who is also committed to a busy schedule of NASCAR racing in 2021.  The same can also be said for other top-10 picks from last year’s draft, including Hailie Deegan (2nd) and Ty Gibbs (6th).


One driver who seemed poised for a rise up the Short Track Draft board was Bret Holmes.  Holmes was 71st in the 2020 Short Track Draft, but scored his first career ARCA Menards Series win en route to the series title.  However, Holmes has plans to compete in 14 NASCAR Truck Series events throughout the 2021 season, removing him from the Short Track Draft ballot.


Another top-10 pick no longer eligible for the Short Track Draft is Tyler Courtney.  “Sunshine” was ninth in the 2020 Short Track Draft, but the USAC standout celebrated his 26th birthday last April, just after the April 1 cutoff for the 2020 Draft.

Four of the top 10 drivers from the 2020 Short Track Draft are no longer draft eligible, due to either age requirements or commitments to race in NASCAR’s national series as they continue to climb the racing ranks.

Many heavy hitters in the dirt racing world aged out of the Short Track Draft this season.  Other dirt notables no longer on the ballot include World of Outlaws Sprint Cars competitor Jacob Allen and Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series regular Devin Moran.


Also included in the list of drivers who are no longer Short Track Draft eligible due to age is 2019 All American 400 winner Mason Mingus, as well as several other strong contenders in the pavement Super Late Model world such as John DeAngelis, Jr., Garrett Hall and Dalton Armstrong.


The Short Track Draft ballot is currently in the hands of our panel of industry experts.  After all the votes for this year’s draft have been tabulated, results will be announced on Speed51.  The first 10 picks will be announced on the live Short Track Draft Show, scheduled for 7 p.m. ET on Wednesday, May 12.  Over the next two days, picks 11-51 will be announced on Speed51.com.

Watch the 2021 Short Track Draft Show on Speed51.TV

-Text by Speed51 Staff




A Look at Who’s Ineligible for the Short Track Draft