A Look at the North South Shootout Modified Entry List

The North South Shootout moves to a new home in 2019, as the event’s 17th running will take place at Hickory Motor Speedway (NC) on November 7-9.  The event already looks like it will live up to that name, with several Northeast Modified standouts ready to take on the Southern Modified stars.


Leading the entry list is the six-time winner of the event, Matt Hirschman.  Hirschman has won the event four times at Concord Speedway (NC), with the other two wins coming in 2011 and 2013 at Caraway Speedway (NC).


The event always draws some of the best Modified racers from the Carolinas, and 2019 will be no exception. Burt Myers, a back-to-back winner of the event at 2008 and 2009, will lead the Carolina contingency, along with his brother Jason Myers.


John Smith, the newly crowned Southern Modified Racing Series champion after outdueling Jeremy Gerstner for the title, will also be at the North South Shootout.  Smith won at Hickory in SMRS’ penultimate race of 2019.


Other southern mainstays on the entry list include Tim Brown, Brandon Ward, Bobby Measmer, Jr., Johnny Sutton, Mike Norman and James Civali.


The race’s most recent winner, Jon McKennedy, is also on the event’s entry list looking to defend his crown in the race.  McKennedy, former Valenti Modified Racing Series champion Anthony Nocella and Cameron Sontag join McKennedy in representing Massachusetts on the entry list.


2019 Race of Champions Asphalt Modified Series champion Patrick Emerling is entered in the event, along with fellow New Yorker and title contender Andy Jankowiak following a three-win season with the series.


Andy Seuss, the event’s 2016 winner, is not on the official entry list but has confirmed he will be competing in the race with Eddie Harvey Racing.


Les Hinckley and Todd Owen will make the long haul from the Constitution State of Connecticut for this weekend’s event.


New Jersey will be represented by youth and experience on the North South Shootout entry list, with Jamie Tomaino, Andrew Krause and Calvin Carroll all entered for the event.


Making the trip down from Pennsylvania alongside Hirschman will be Austin Kochenash and Zane Zeiner.


Stay tuned to Speed51 for more information regarding coverage of this weekend’s North South Shootout at Hickory Motor Speedway.  For more information about the event, visit www.pratours.com.


North South Shootout Tour Modified Entry List


Car # Driver
Les Hinckey
7 Johnny Sutton
7 Patrick Emerling
1 Burt Myers
4 Jason Myers
7NY Jon McKennedy
8 Chris Finocchario
12 Mike Norman
12X Andy Jankowiak
13 Cameron Sontag
14 Bobby Measmer, Jr.
17 Brandon Ward
22 Zane Zeiner
24NJ Andrew Krause
25NJ Calvin Carroll
25 John Smith
60 Matt Hirschman
66 Austin Kochenash
79 James Civali
81 Todd Owen
83 Tim Brown
92 Anthony Nocella
99 Jamie Tomaino


-Story by: Zach Evans, Speed51.com Southeast Editor – Twitter: @ztevans

-Photo credit: Speed51photos.com

A Look at the North South Shootout Modified Entry List