A Look at the History of ULTIMATE’s Richest Race

On August 16-17, ULTIMATE Super Late Model teams from three different regions will converge at Richmond Raceway (KY) for the 32ndAnnual Paul “Butterball” Wooldridge Memorial. Paying $20,059 to win, it is the richest race in ULTIMATE Super Late Model history, and the event comes with a proud and distinguished history over the 31 prior years.


The race is named in honor of Paul “Butterball” Wooldridge, an inductee in the Kentucky Motorsports Hall of Fame.  Wooldridge was a champion dirt racer, winning races throughout the southeast and Mid-Ohio Valley during his career.  Wooldridge was also one of the original operators of Franklin County Speedway (VA).


Since his passing in 1987, Richmond Raceway has honored his legacy with the “Butterball” Wooldridge Memorial. Brian Asbury won the inaugural Butterball Memorial in 1988.


Five different racers would win the first five editions of the Butterball Memorial, but it was the fifth winner who quickly laid a claim to the race.  Mike Jewell first won the race in 1992, beginning a stretch of eight wins during 12 Butterball Memorials.  The Scottsburg, Indiana native most recently won the race in 2013, giving him nine total Butterball wins.


Other repeat winners of the Butterball Memorial include Mike Marlar (2004, 2009, 2015), Tim Tungate (2005, 2007), Victor Lee (2008, 2010), and Josh McGuire (2011, 2012).  While no one has been able to match Jewell’s three consecutive Butterball wins between 1999 and 2001, McGuire is the only other driver to win consecutive Butterball Memorials.


A different driver has won each of the last seven Butterball Memorials, dating back to the 2012 Josh McGuire victory.  Mike Jewell claimed his ninth Butterball in 2013, with Billy Moyer, Jr., Mike Marlar, Tyler Carpenter, Freddy Carpenter and Eddie Carrier, Jr. winning between 2014 and 2018.


That trend could easily continue for the 2019 edition of the race, with some strong contenders already announced for the event seeking their first Butterball Memorial wins.


Zack Dohm swept the Butch Shay Memorial weekend earlier this season at Richmond Raceway, locking himself into the Butterball Memorial feature field and establishing himself as an early favorite.


Add in ULTIMATE heavy-hitters such as defending Southeast champion and current points leader Zack Mitchell, 2018 Southeast Rookie of the Year Kyle Hardy and 2018 Mid-Ohio Valley Rookie of the Year Ryan Montgomery, along with anyone else who wants to take a shot at the $20,059 payday, and it will be no small feat for a repeat winner.


The event begins Friday, August 16 with qualifying and heat races.  The fast qualifier will take home a $250 bonus, while top finishers in Friday’s heat races will lock in to the Butterball Memorial feature field.


Saturday’s program will include B-Mains to complete the Butterball Memorial grid ahead of the 59-lap, $20,059-to-win feature.


Speed51 will be at Richmond Raceway to bring you all the coverage of the richest event in the history of the ULTIMATE Super Late Model Series.  Friday’s heat races will be streamed to premium subscribers on the Speed51 Network, while Saturday’s race will be a pay-per-view broadcast. More information will be announced shortly.


Paul “Butterball” Wooldridge Memorial Winners

2018 – Eddie Carrier, Jr.

2017 – Freddy Carpenter

2016 – Tyler Carpenter

2015 – Mike Marlar

2014 – Billy Moyer, Jr.

2013 – Mike Jewell

2012 – Josh McGuire

2011 – Josh McGuire

2010 – Victor Lee

2009 – Mike Marlar

2008 – Victor Lee

2007 – Tim Tungate

2006 – Ben Adkins

2005 – Tim Tungate

2004 – Mike Marlar

2003 – Mike Jewell

2002 – Jimmy Owens

2001 – Mike Jewell

2000 – Mike Jewell

1999 – Mike Jewell

1998 – Delane Browning

1997 – Mike Jewell

1996 – Mike Jewell

1995 – Johnny Wheeler

1994 – Mike Jewell

1993 – Jack Boggs

1992 – Mike Jewell

1991 – Kevin Claycomb

1990 – Ray Godsey

1989 – Jim Curry

1988 – Brian Asbury


-Story by: Zach Evans, Speed51.com Southeast Editor – Twitter: @ztevans

-Photo credit: Speed51.com photo

A Look at the History of ULTIMATE’s Richest Race