It only seemed fitting that the final Pete Orr Memorial went to someone who had ties to the man himself. Orr was a standout Late Model driver who battled cancer until his death in 2002. For 14 years the Super Late Model community would gather and race in his honor. 2015 was the final running of the event, as recently announced by the family.


A talented young field of drivers battled for the prize in the final event that would carry the name of the Orr family. There was no dissatisfaction when youngster Dalton Sargeant held off Bobby Good to win the final edition at New Smyrna Speedway; the win, however, was short lived.


Once over the scales Sargeant’s Richie Wauters-owned No. 5 ride was found to be too heavy on the left side. 58.2% was past the allowance and Sargeant was stripped of his win. Good, who grew up racing against the Orr family, was over the scales clean and a few minutes later was declared the winner.


“I can’t stop smiling,” said Good after he learned of his win in the tech line. “This win means so much to me and my family because we had ties to the Orr family growing up. Hey, a win is a win. That’s why you keep digging because you never know what’s going to happen. We were so close tonight to getting by Dalton and winning the race on the track. I am so proud of how well we have run the past few times we have come out.”


Bobby Good and Stephen Nasse battle for positions during the Pete Orr Memorial on Saturday. ( Photo)

Bobby Good and Stephen Nasse battle for positions during the Pete Orr Memorial on Saturday. ( Photo)

Good was second earlier this month at the Red-Eye 100 and last November was within two laps of winning the Florida Governor’s Cup before getting passed by Travis Cope. The win makes it three straight podium finishes for Good at the New Smyrna Beach, Florida oval.


Sargeant led the entire race minus a handful of laps when Stephen Nasse took the top spot. Sargeant regained the lead from Nasse with just over 25 laps to. In the end the solid performance ended up to be a letdown because of the disqualification.


“It’s definitely a tough way to lose a race,” Sargeant told powered by JEGS. “It’s not ideal but rules are rules and we all have to abide by them for the benefit of competition. Ricky Brooks is easily the best technical director in all of short track racing and he’s made short track racing better than when he initially got on the scene. You have to respect a person like that and the job he does every event.”


Sargeant was coming off a successful run in his first Snowball Derby where he finished second to racer winner John Hunter Nemechek.


“We’re not going to hang our head about losing it in the tech shed. We came here to gain experience at New Smyrna Speedway and we accomplished that goal, so there’s still a smile on my face. We’re going to carry this momentum into my debut in the K&N Pro Series East with HScott Motorsports with Justin Marks.”


Third-place finisher William Byron was also disqualified for a left-side weight violation.


“It’s frustrating to say the least,” said Byron. “We won’t let it get us down. We got laps getting ready for the K&N race and now we’re ready for that.”


Stephen Nasse battled with the leaders all night only to go for a spin out of second on the next to the last restart. Nasse had traded paint with Sargeant twice and was going for the win when he went around.


“It was just good hard racing,” said Nasse. “I am not going to be a cry baby and wine about it because that’s what you want to do is race people hard. It’s not always going to work out, but hey we ran well, the car is one piece and now it’s on the Ice Breaker.”


The DQ’s shuffled the top-five leaving Jake Perkins in second and JJ Haley in third. Nasse and Tyler Dippel completed the top-five.


Modified driver Doc McKinney was the recipient of the Pete Orr Sportsmanship award. The Orr Family has horned one person each year prior to the start of the race. confirmed with the family that the award would also be ending along with the race. Past winners have included Freddie Query, Alan Bruns, Tim Russell, Bobby Sears, Lee Collins, Jay Middleton, Brian Finney, Chad Pierce, Pietro Fittipaldi and LeRoy Porter.


-By Elgin Traylor, Correspondent – Twitter: @ElginTraylor

-Photo credit:

Pete Orr Memorial 100 Results

(powered by 51's Third Turn)
Fin St # Driver Laps Led
11027Bobby Good1000
1959xJake Perkins1000
31568J.J. Haley1000
551Stephen Nasse1000
131Tyler Dippel1000
2157Chad Pierce1000
2407Tyler Scofield1000
8320Anthony Sergi1000
1451AMichael Atwell1000
2517Ashley Rogero1000
1672Scott Heckert990
45KDaniel Keene, Jr.940
2324Rico Abreu870
14225GWill Gallaher570
1712GDavid Green 570
12129Spencer Davis440
254Matt Craig440
65Joe Boyd440
119Brad May440
78Dave Garbo, Jr.440
2011David Rogers440
1815Jason Boyd 220
881Anthony Campi130
15SDalton Sargeant100100
DQ99bWilliam Byron1000

A “Good” Ending, Two Disqualifications in Pete Orr Memorial