Thousands of short track racing fans made their way to during the past three weeks to cast their votes for the 2017 51 Awards.  The annual awards that honor the best of the best in short track racing from the previous season has become one of the most popular features that we host here on


Throughout this past week, 51 released the results from each category for the 2017 season.  In case you missed any of the announcements, we’ve compiled a full list of winners from each of the categories.


The full list of winners is below:


Driver of the Year:

1 Austin Theriault
2 Matt Hirschman
3 Matt Sheppard
4 Mike Harrison
5 Bubba Pollard


Local Driver of the Year: 

1 Max Blair
2 Carson Kvapil
3 Dave Shullick, Jr.
4 Tyler Roahrig
5 Casey Johnson


Rookie of the Year: 

1 Derek Kraus
2 Carson Hocevar
3 Hudson O’Neal
4 Ricky Schlick
5 Anthony Alfredo


Most Improved Driver: 

1 Justin Carroll
2 Brittney Zamora
3 Tommy Catalano
4 Jack Dossey III
5 Curtis Gerry


Best Short Track: 

1 Georgetown Speedway (DE)
2 Thompson Speedway Motorsports Park (CT)
3 Thunder Road (VT)
4 Five Flags Speedway (FL)
5 Eldora Speedway (OH)


Best Short Track Touring Series: 

1 Race of Champions (RoC)
2 NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour
3 Pro All Stars Series (PASS)
4 ARCA Midwest Tour
5 Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series


Short Track Event of the Year: 

1 Chili Bowl Nationals
2 Snowball Derby
3 Oxford 250
4 Race of Champions
5 Thompson World Series


Promoter of the Year: 

1 Tim Packman (Lancaster)
2 Kevin & Tammy Gundeker (Tri-County)
3 Greg McKarns (ARCA Midwest Tour)
4 R.J. Scott & Glenn Luckett (CRA)
5 Cris Michaud & Pat Malone (Thunder Road)


Comeback Driver of the Year: 

1 Tim McCreadie
2 Austin Theriault
3 Natalie Decker
4 Jeff Choquette
5 Preston Peltier


Best Personality: 

1 Derek Griffith
2 Tim McCreadie
3 Raphael Lessard
4 Harrison Burton
5 Andy Seuss


Short Track Bad Boy: 

1 Scott Bloomquist
2 George Skora
3 Keith Rocco
4 Sammy Swindell
5 Matt Craig


Surprise Moment of the Year: 

1 Jukasa Renovated & Reopened
2 Busch DQ’d, Johnson Wins Dixieland 250
3 Announcement of 250-lap Modified Race at NHMS
4 Cassius Clark’s Team Stuck at Border
5 Curtis Gerry Wins Oxford 250


Feel-Good Moment of the Year: 

1 Theriault Wins ARCA Title for Schrader
2 Bell Wins First Chili Bowl
3 Crowd Holds Up 13 for TC at NHMS
4 Rocco Sweept CT Track Titles, Honors TC
5 Roahrig Wins First Kalamazoo Klash


Best Driver Social Media: 

1 Hunter Jack
2 Andy Jankowiak
3 Austin Theriault
4 Justin Mondeik
5 Derek Griffith


Best Track/Series Social Media: 

1 Oswego Speedway
2 World of Outlaws
3 Stafford Motor Speedway
4 Dells Raceway Park
5 Chili Bowl Nationals


Short Track Announcer of the Year:

1 Dustin Jarrett (Dirt LM)
2 Tim Baltz (Super DIRTcar Series)
3 Dave Buchanan (RoC & Lancaster)
4 Corey Hensley (Vores)
5 Aaron Maynard (ACT & T-Road) / Robbie Harvey (Five Flags)


Best Racing Destination 

1 New Smyrna Beach, FL
2 Barre, VT
3 Lake Havasu, AZ
4 Lake Erie, PA
5 Pensacola, FL


Photo of the Year:

1 Fiery Crash at Evergreen (Michele Martin)
2 Start ‘Em Young (Melissa Strahley)
3 Dirt Mod Dominos (Evan Canfield)
4 Little 500 Aerial (Dale Prickett)
5 Catch Air at Jennerstown (Patrick Miller)


Finish of the Year: 

1 Eckes vs. Theriault at Elko
2 Mahoning Valley Modifieds
3 Nocella vs. Hirschman at Seekonk
4 Oxford 250 Last Chance Race
5 Roderick vs. Choquette at Montgomery (AL) Video of the Year: 

1 Ted Christopher Tribute on Short Track Center
2 Stremme vs. Strickler at The Dirt Track at Charlotte
3 Oliver vs. Fatscher at Bristol
4 Wight vs. Sheppard at Utica-Rome
5 Hinckley Out of the Ballpark at White Mountain


A Full List of Winners From the 2017 Speed51 Awards