The full-bore Open Wheel Modifieds run their third points-paying race of the year this Saturday night at New Smyrna Speedway as part of the NASCAR Whelen All-American Racing Series.  Joining the Modifieds will be the Sportsman cars, Super Stocks, Mini Stocks and Strictly Stocks.
Jerry “The Hammer” Symons of New Smyrna Beach has won both point races for the Open Modifieds this year as well as the recent Billy Gunn Memorial race that combined both the open class and the E-Modified cars.  As usual, Symons will be the odds-on favorite but he’ll have a number of challengers including James “Tank” Tucker, Ricky Moxley, Alan Bruns and others.  The race will be contested for 50 laps around the high-banked half-mile.
Donny Williams of Tangerine continues to lead the Sportsman point standings by a good margin as he seeks his third win of the year.  Consistent Shannon Kelly hasn’t missed a Super Stock race all season and seems well on his way to a second point title while Pat Wells stays atop a good battle in the Mini Stock class.
They’ll be some extra interest in this week’s Strictly Stock contest.  The $100 bounty placed on Zachary Curtis won’t be happening following Curtis’ frightening crash last Saturday night, but Old School Racing is putting up $150 to the winner this week anyway and that amount could grow to as much as $200 depending on the number of cars that show up.
Pit gates open Saturday afternoon at 3 pm with division practice from 4-5:40 pm.  Grandstand gates open at 6 pm with qualifying for the Open Modifieds at 6:15 pm.  Racing starts at 7:30 pm with 8-lap heat races for the Sportsman, Super Stocks, Mini Stocks and Strictly Stocks.  Fans will be able to come trackside during intermission for a special autograph session with the drivers.
Following intermission, the Sportsman cars take to the track for 25 laps followed by 25 laps for the Super Stocks, the Modified 50-lapper, 25 laps for the Mini Stocks and the evening culminates with a 20-lap shoot-out for the Strictly Stocks.
Adult admission is $15 with all seniors (65+) and military members with valid ID being admitted for $13.  Kids 11 and under are free.
Here is a list of the winners (by class) so far this season at New Smyrna Speedway:
Stephen Nasse – 1
Steven Wallace – 1
Rich Clouser – 4
Will Carroll – 2
Tyler Audie – 1
Cody Blair – 1
Zach Jarrell – 1
Daniel Keene, Jr. – 1
Michael Lira – 1
Brad May – 1
Tyler Thomas – 1
Jerry Symons – 3
Jarrett Korpi – 9
Matthew Green – 3
Cody Blair – 1
Chris Brannon – 1
Justin Reynolds – 1
Earl “Junior” Beckner – 3
Chris Brannon – 2
Donny Williams – 2
Garrett Hill – 1
Brandon Morris – 1
Patrick Thomas – 1
Derrick Wood – 1
Tyler Simpson – 5
Pat Wells – 4
Ted Vulpius – 3
David Russell – 2
Brad Blanton – 1
James Ellis – 1
Justin Reynolds – 4
Jeff Colburn – 2
Garrett Hill – 2
Shannon Kelly – 2
Mike Trocki – 2
Danny Frye – 1
Butch Herdegen – 1
Zachary Curtis – 5
Johnathan Murphy – 4
Warren Howie – 3
Jimmy Barron – 2
David Brannon – 1
Charles King – 1
Aaron Overman – 1

50 Laps for Modifieds Highlight Busy Saturday at New Smyrna