The beginning of another Southern Super Series presented by Sunoco season is less than two months away.  On Sunday, March 18, the best Super Late Model drivers from the Southeast and beyond will flock to South Alabama Speedway for the 42nd Annual Rattler 250.


In recent weeks, track officials have released important information about the season-opening event.


Once again in 2018, the prestigious Rattler 250 will pay a minimum of $10,000 to win with the purse increasing based on car count. With a field of 26 or more cars, the winner’s share of the purse will increase to $12,000.  Another $1,000 will be added to the winner’s check if 36 or more cars are present.


300x250 Rattler 2018In addition to releasing the purse for the race, track officials also revealed the full weekend schedule that will begin on Wednesday, March 14 with practice for the track’s local divisions.


On Thursday, March 15, the Southern Super Series Super Late Models will be joined by Pro Late Models for a day of practice in Kinston, Alabama.


The Late Model divisions will be on the race track once again for practice on Friday, March 16 from 11 a.m. – 3 p.m.  Later that night, five different local divisions will be competing in feature races.


Saturday, March 17 is the all-important qualifying day for the Late Models. Southern Super Series Super Late Model qualifying will begin at 3 p.m. and will be followed up with Pro Late Model qualifying.  Feature racing begins at 7 p.m. and will be highlighted by the 13th Annual Grasshopper Pro Late Model Baby Rattler 125.


The biggest day of the weekend will be Sunday, March 18 when the Southern Super Series stars battle for 250 laps and the opportunity to meet the famous Alabama rattlesnake in victory lane.  An autograph session will be held from 12:45 – 1:15 leading into pre-race ceremonies at 1:30. The green flag for the 42nd Annual Rattler 250 is slated to wave at approximately 2 p.m.


Ty Majeski, who will be piloting the Roush Fenway Racing No. 60 part-time in the NASCAR XFINITY Series in 2018, is the two-time defending race winner. Other former Rattler 250 winners include 2017 NASCAR Camping World Truck Series champion Christopher Bell (2015), Super Late Model veteran Bubba Pollard (2012), former ARCA Racing Series champion Grant Enfinger (2008 & 2011) and Alabama’s own Augie Grill (2007 & 2009).


For more information on the 42nd Annual Rattler 250, visit


For more information on the Southern Super Series presented by Sunoco, including the full 2018 schedule, visit


-Southern Super Series Press Release

-Photo credit:

42nd Annual Rattler 250 Less Than Two Months Away