32 Drivers Advance in Short Track Madness Tournament

After an exciting first round full of close matchups and shocking upsets, the Round of 32 is set in Speed51’s “Short Track Madness” Tournament.


Voting will begin at 5 p.m. ET this evening for the second-round matchups, which will set the “Speed 16” who continue on in the pursuit of the Short Track Madness championship.  Voting for the second round will end Thursday, March 26 at 11:59 p.m. ET.


The first round saw several surprises, shaking up the bracket moving forward.  In the Heartland Region, double-digit seeds Travis Braden, Travis Eddy, Brian Campbell, Casey Johnson and Tyler Roahrig are all moving on, while top seed Brandon Sheppard went down to the wire with 16-seed Chuck Barnes, Jr. but narrowly escaped.


The West/Canada Region was tamer in comparison, but saw its share of surprises.  Open-wheel stars shined in that region, as 12-seed Tanner Thorson advanced over ARCA’s Michael Self and 10-seed Kody Swanson defeated rising star Hailie Deegan.


In the North, there was yet another 5-12 upset as Travis Benjamin knocked off Super DIRTcar Series Champion Mat Williamson.  David Gravel upset Matt Hirschman, with D.J. Shaw and Stewart Friesen also scoring lower-seed wins.


In the South, “High Side Tickler” Kyle Strickler won out in a battle of nicknames with Stephen Nasse. Another dirt standout, Nick Hoffman, also defeated a Super Late Model hotshoe of the southeast in Matt Craig.


This sets up several intriguing matchups for the Round of 32.  The Heartland Region sees the Travis and Travis Show, as Braden and Eddy look to continue their runs.  The West/Canada pits a pair of USAC racers, Brady Bacon and Tanner Thorson, against one another.


The North features a matchup of drivers with roots in Big-Block Modified racing, as Tim McCreadie squares off with Stewart Friesen.  The South boasts a pairing of two of the hottest Dirt Late Model racers of the past year, with Chris “Smokey” Madden facing “The Newport Nightmare,” Jimmy Owens.


While the tournament will be crowning a champion, fans can also win by participating in “Short Track Madness.”  Those who place their votes and share with their friends, using the widget at the top of the bracket page, will be entered to win one of five Speed51 yearly subscriptions.


Speed51 Network subscribers gain access to our expansive on-demand video library, featuring past races, highlights, recaps and much more from short track racing events across North America.


The Speed 16 will get underway on Friday, March 27 at 5 p.m. ET, with voting continuing until Monday at 11:59 p.m. ET.


On Tuesday, March 31 the tournament will become epic with eight drivers qualifying for the “Epic 8.”  Fans will have until Thursday, April 2 to cast their votes for the “Fast 4.”


The “Fast 4” round will see the best driver from each region battle for the top spot beginning Friday, April 3 at 5 p.m. ET.  Voting will continue until Monday, April 6 at 11:59 p.m. ET, and the championship matchup will be revealed on Tuesday, April 7.


Voting to crown the overall “Short Track Champion” of the 2019-2020 season will begin at 5 p.m. ET on April 7 and end on Thursday, April 9 on 5 p.m.  The winner of the tournament will be announced on Speed51 shortly after.


The voting process will mostly be held on Speed51.com, with some additional rounds also being contested on our social media pages such as Facebook and Twitter.


-Story by: Speed51 Staff


32 Drivers Advance in Short Track Madness Tournament