Millbridge Speedway celebrated its 2018 season this past Saturday, January 12 at Victory Lane Karting in Charlotte, North Carolina. Awards for the best finishing drivers and additional hand-picked awards were given out to recognize accomplishments during the season.


The dirt kart track located in Salisbury, North Carolina is home to six different divisions of karts, which race on both Wednesday and Saturday nights.


Drivers competing in Saturday’s racing program were awarded first, beginning with the Beginner Box Stock class.  Coen McDaniel was named the 2018 champion, while Dallas Griggs and Jaxson Merrifield were recognized as the second and third-place finishers, respectively.


The Box Stock division was next, and it was Sam Corry who would take home the championship hardware followed by Hunter Kohn in second and Aidan Turner in third.


The Intermediate division points standings held Matt Francis in third place, Tyler Letarte in second and Jordyn Bregoli winning the championship.


For the popular Open division, the 2018 championship was awarded to Andrew Wehrli.  Tyler Letarte earned his second runner-up trophy, while Brent Crews finished third in the standings.


Wednesday’s awards were up next, and they started off with the Beginner Box Stocks. Jaxson Merrifield took home another third-place finish, with Brody Snyder second, and Coen McDaniel winning his second 2018 championship. All of these drivers were given bonuses from Millbridge Speedway and Hoosier tire; $100.00 and one Hoosier tire for third place, $200.00 and two Hoosier tires for second, and $300.00 and four Hoosier tires for the champion.


The Box Stock division followed where Sam Corry was recognized for his second championship of 2018.  Hunter Kohn was once again second in the standings and Will Boprey was third. All of these drivers were given bonuses from Millbridge Speedway and Hoosier tire; $100.00 and one Hoosier tire, $250.00 and two Hoosier tires, and $500.00 and four Hoosier tires, respectively.


The Intermediate division recognized another three talented drivers. Bringing home third was Gray Leadbetter, second was Eli Adams and taking home the top spot was Caden Kvapil. These drivers were also given a bonus, Third place took home $100.00 and one Hoosier tire, second took home $200.00 and two Hoosier tires, and the champion was awarded $300.00 and four Hoosier tires.


Next in the schedule was the special awards given out, these included “Best Finish,” “Best Wreck,” and “BC True Racer Award.”


The Best Finish Award was given to Sam Corry who edged out Jay Merck by .001 at the line after a last-lap pass where the top three were side by side for the closest finish in Millbridge history, since the track introduced electronic timing and scoring.


Tyler Letarte was handed the Best Wreck Award for his wreck in turn 4 where he almost got as high as the catch fence cable.


As far as the BC True Racer award, this award was given to someone who is always willing to help out at the track whenever he isn’t already pre-occupied. Ben Stachowicz has helped out almost everyone in the pits and is the true racer.


The 2018 Outlaw Division Champion was Tom Hubert who took home a bonus of $500.00 and four Hoosier tires, second place was Andrew Wehrli who was given $250.00 and two Hoosier tires, and third place was Nick Turner who walked away with $100.00 and one Hoosier tire.


The last division on the night would be the Open division.  Carson Kvapil, the son of Travis Kvapil, was honored as the 2018 champion and was awarded $750 and four Hoosier tires. Championship runner-up Nick Odell was the recipient of $350 and two Hoosier tires, while third-place finisher Joey Robinson took home $250 and one Hoosier tire.


Millbridge Speedway is back in action on January 26, and they want to remind everyone of the Appalachian Indoor Showdown in Wytheville, Virginia on February 23.


On-demand videos of all the Millbridge Speedway Wednesday night action from the 2018 season can be found on the Speed51 Network by clicking here.


Speed 51 will be releasing highlight reels for Millbridge Speedway’s Wednesday night races in 2019, so make sure to watch for those and share them with your family and friends.


-Story by: Kendra Adams, Southeast Correspondent

-Photo credit:

2018 Champions & More Honored at Millbridge Banquet