16 Drivers Advance to Short Track Madness ‘Speed 16’

Speed51’s Short Track Madness tournament continues on, with the Round of 32 concluding on Thursday night. After starting with a field of 65 short track hotshoes, the following 16 have moved on in the bracket-style tournament inspired by the traditional college basketball tournament each March.


Brandon Sheppard – After a nail-biter in round one against Street Stock racer Chuck Barnes, Jr., the number one seed in the Heartland Region flexed his muscles with a dominant victory over UMP Modified standout Mike Harrison.


Travis Braden – The 12 seed continues a Cinderella run, knocking off Travis Eddy after eliminating Brian Shirley to start the tournament.   The defending Snowball Derby winner will now face Sheppard in the Speed 16.


Ty Majeski – With more than 60 percent of the vote, Majeski advanced past Brian Campbell to keep his tournament alive.  He had defeated Rodney Sanders in the first round.


Tyler Roahrig – The 15seed in the Heartland Region is still alive.  After upsetting “Sunshine” Tyler Courtney in the first round, Roahrig defeated Casey Johnson to face Majeski in the next round.


Brad Sweet – “The Big Cat” handily defeated Super Late Model racer Preston Peltier in the Round of 32 after dispatching Mike Lichty to start the tournament.


Tanner Thorson – In a battle of USAC racers, Nevada’s Tanner Thorson eliminated “Macho Man” Brady Bacon to move on to the Speed 16.  Thorson will now face Sweet for an opportunity to move on to the Epic 8.


Donny Schatz – The Prince of Sprint Car racing ran away with his Sweet 16 matchup, scoring 60 percent of the vote against 2018 USAC Midget Champion Logan Seavey.  Schatz defeated Rico Abreu in the first round.


Derek Thorn – There are no shortage of championship trophies on display in an upcoming matchup between Thorn and Schatz.  After beating Kody Swanson, the four-time SRL Southwest Tour and two-time ARCA Menards Series West champion will go against the 10-time World of Outlaws title holder.


Matt Sheppard – Sheppard is now two-for-two in representing the Big-Block Modified world against the pavement Modifieds.  The top seed in the North has defeated Ronnie Williams and Justin Bonsignore in succession to start Short Track Madness.


Travis Benjamin – The three-time and defending Oxford 250 winner entered the tournament as a 12 seed after a 2019 season below his standard, but he’s red-hot in the tournament after beating Super DIRTcar Champion Mat Williamson and Whelen Modified Tour dominator Doug Coby.


David Gravel – In a battle of double-digit seeds, David Gravel defeated four-time PASS North Champion D.J. Shaw to move on to the Speed 16.  Gravel had eliminated “Big Money” Matt Hirschman to start Short Track Madness.


Stewart Friesen – After a pair of close matchups, Stewart Friesen is moving on in Short Track Madness.  Friesen defeated Derek Griffith and Tim McCreadie, the latter by a “score” of 51-49, to face Gravel.


Jimmy Owens – In a shocking upset between a pair of Dirt Late Model drivers in the South region, Owens upsets top-seed Chris “Smokey” Madden.  Owens defeated ValleyStar Credit Union 300 winner Josh Berry to start the tournament.


Jonathan Davenport – “Superman” soars into the Speed 16 after defeating “High Side Tickler” Kyle Strickler.  He will now be tasked with stopping “The Newport Nightmare” in the Speed 16.


Bubba Pollard – In the most lopsided matchup of the Round of 32, Pollard tallied more than 75 percent of the vote against two-time CARS Tour Champion Bobby McCarty. Pollard knocked off Tyler Erb in the first round.


Chandler Smith – After defeating 10-time Bowman Gray Stadium champion Burt Myers in the first round, the former Short Track Draft No. 1 pick eliminates Nick Hoffman in round two.  He will now face the tall task of challenging Pollard in the Speed 16.


Voting for the third round of the tournament will begin Friday at 5 p.m. ET, with voting continuing until Monday at 11:59 p.m. ET.


On Tuesday, March 31 the tournament will become epic with eight drivers qualifying for the “Epic 8.”  Fans will have until Thursday, April 2 to cast their votes for the “Fast 4.”


The “Fast 4” round will see the best driver from each region battle for the top spot beginning Friday, April 3 at 5 p.m. ET.  Voting will continue until Monday, April 6 at 11:59 p.m. ET, and the championship matchup will be revealed on Tuesday, April 7.


Voting to crown the overall “Short Track Champion” of the 2019-2020 season will begin at 5 p.m. ET on April 7 and end on Thursday, April 9 on 5 p.m.  The winner of the tournament will be announced on Speed51 shortly after.


The voting process will mostly be held on Speed51.com, with some additional rounds also being contested on our social media pages such as Facebook and Twitter.


-Story by: Speed51 Staff

16 Drivers Advance to Short Track Madness ‘Speed 16’