(Editor’s Note: After this story was published, Speed51.com reported that Kyle Busch had been disqualified from his apparent victory. Casey Johnson is now the official race winner. An updated story can be found by clicking here.)


On Sunday evening, Kyle Busch celebrated his first Monster Energy NASCAR Cup Series regular season win of the season at Pocono Raceway (PA). Just over 48 hours later, Busch was celebrating another victory nearly 900 miles away in Kaukauna, Wisconsin.


Busch of Las Vegas, Nevada took the lead for the final time on lap 144 and pulled away from Casey Johnson on a late-race restart to win Tuesday night’s Dixieland 250 at Wisconsin International Raceway.


“It was a great race I thought,” Busch said after the race.  “These guys were pretty tough, the 5 (Johnson) was definitely hauling butt there at the end and was fast, but he had those fresh tires there race.  We weren’t sure if that was going to be the right strategy, but it was almost the right one.  Great race car.  I can’t say enough about my guys; all the guys at Kyle Busch Motorsports, Rowdy Manufacturing.  It’s a lot of fun to drive these cars.”


Busch set fast time in qualifying for the ARCA Midwest Tour event before drawing an invert of eight for the 250-lap main event. The 2015 NASCAR Cup Series champion charged into the top five early before a rain delay slowed his efforts and delayed the race after 34 green flag laps.


When racing resumed after a rain delay of approximately 65 minutes, Busch wasted no time driving towards the front.


On lap 96, Busch powered to the outside of early leader Jeff VanOudenhouven and took over the lead for the first time. He held onto the lead until lap 132 when he visited pit road during a competition caution.


With Johnson being the only lead-lap car to stay out during the caution, Busch lined up to his outside in the second position for the lap 142 restart. Two laps later, Busch powered the No. 51 Kyle Busch Motorsports Super Late Model by Johnson to retake the top spot.


From there, Busch set a torrid pace and held off Johnson on a restart with six laps remaining to winning his second career Dixieland 250. He also won the event 10 years ago in 2007.


“I certainly do (love running the ARCA Midwest Tour). I enjoy coming up to the Midwest, this is a long way to come up from North Carolina for a race but I enjoy it,” Busch stated.  “It’s just my part of giving a little bit back and just going out and having fun.  These weekday races are what gives me the opportunity to come out and visit with a lot of great folks.”


Johnson held on to finish second, while Ty Majeski made up ground on the final restart to grab the final podium spot. Paul Shafer, Jr. and defending race winner Dennis Prunty completed the top five.


Race fans can find on-demand Trackside Now coverage of Tuesday’s race by clicking here.


-By Brandon Paul, Speed51.com Editor – Twitter: @Brandon_Paul51

-Photo credit: Speed51.com/Bruce Nuttleman


Dixieland 250 Unofficial Results
Wisconsin International Speedway – August 1, 2017

(Note: Dennis Prunty will be moved up to fifth in the finishing order. Officials determined he spun to avoid an incident that brought out the yellow flag on the final lap.)

1 51 Kyle Busch
2 5 Casey Johnson
3 91 Ty Majeski
4 7s Paul Shafer Jr
5 45o Jeff VanOudenhoven
6 75 Chris Weinkauf
7 58 Cardell Potter
8 119 Dalton Zehr
9 11 Bobby Kendall
10 76 Jason Weinkauf
11 47 Travis Sauter
12 14 Austin Nason
13 36 Dan Fredrickson
14 42 Dennis Prunty
15 43 Matt Kocourek
16 99b Travis Braden
17 72 Jacob Goede
18 07 Cory Kemkes
19 7 John DeAngelis Jr
20 3 Brandon Reichenberger
21 77 Jonathan Elien
22 35 Travis Dassow
23 9 Braison Bennett
24 52b Ricky Baker
25 12 Nick Murgic
26 18 Michael Ostidek
27 9c Kyle Calmes
28 39 Andrew Morrisey
29 9k Derek Kraus
30 44 Justin Mondeik


10 Years Later, Busch Returns to Dixieland 250 Victory Lane