10 Things to Know: Kalamazoo Klash

Outlaw Super Late Model racing’s best converge onto Kalamazoo Speedway for the Kalamazoo Klash Wednesday night.  Now in its 29th edition, the event has become the biggest Outlaw SLM race in the country.


Take a look at 10 things you need to know about the Kalamazoo Klash.


1 – The Kalamazoo Klash will be a 125 lap race paying $10,000 to win.


2 – Steve Needles won the 2020 version of the race, dubbed the “COVID Klash” back in June.


3 – Tyler Roahrig won the Summer Sizzler at New Paris Speedway two weeks ago. While he has won either the Sizzler or Klash every year since 2012 except when he missed 2014 due to injury, no driver has ever won both races in the same year.


4 – Andy Bozell won the inaugural Kalamazoo Klash in 1993. He has gone on to win the race four times.


5 – Terry Senneker holds the all-time mark for Kalamazoo Klash wins with five.


6 – The local favorites are led by former Kalamazoo Speedway track champions Todd Harrington, Adam Terry and Mark Shook. No weekly Kalamazoo racer has won the Klash since Phil Bozell did so in 2011.


7 – Drivers who have competed in the Klash over the years include Matt Kenseth, Ken Schrader, Kyle Busch, Johnny Benson, Scott Bloomquist and Bubba Pollard.


8 – The Template Late Models will also be in action with a 75 lap feature paying $5,000 to win.


9 – “The Pass” will forever live in Kalamazoo Klash lore. Mike Vansparrentak passed Andy Bozell on the outside on the final lap and won the 1998 race by two feet.


10 – The Klash will feature Madhouse Restarts. In essence, a choose cone will be used.


-Story by: Koty Geyer, Speed51 Midwest Correspondent – Twitter: @kgeyer3

-Photo credit: Speed51 Photo

10 Things to Know: Kalamazoo Klash