10 Things to Know About Tonight’s Summer Sizzler

Tonight, a field of the best Outlaw Late Model drivers in the Midwest will take to the track at New Paris Speedway (IN) for the Summer Sizzler.  To preview Thursday night’s race, here are 10 Things to Know about the annual Summer Sizzler.


1 – This in the 19th year of the Summer Sizzler event at New Paris Speedway.


2 – Type Roahrig is a four-time winner of the event, while his dad, J.R. Roahrig, has won it twice.  The family has six total wins and six big checks on the wall from the race.


3 – 123 drivers have run the race in its short 18-year history.


4 – Strange fact: The race has been won 12 times by cars with even numbers and only six with odd numbers.


5 – New Paris Speedway, home of the Summer Sizzler, is a quarter-mile track in New Paris, Indiana.


6 – In addition to the Outlaw race, the Modifieds will be on hand and will battle for 50 laps.


7 – The winner of the race will receive $10,000.


8 – 2005 winner Jack Landis has run extremely well in this race, with nine top-five runs in 14 starts.  He was second in 2015, 2016 and 2017.


9 – Jeff Ganus is the only driver other than Tyler and J.R. Roahrig to win the race more then once. His wins have come in 2008 and 2014.


10 – The Outlaw Late Models will go for 100 laps this season in the Summer Sizzler.


-Story by: Elgin Traylor, Speed51 Correspondent

-Photo credit: Speed51 Photo

10 Things to Know About Tonight’s Summer Sizzler