10 Things to Know About The Rattler 250

One of the marquee Super Late Model races of the season will take place this Sunday at South Alabama Speedway.  We get you ready for the 45th Annual Rattler 250 with 10 things to know. Watch the event all weekend long live on Speed51.TV by clicking here.

1) The winner of the Rattler 250 will pocket $12,500.


2) Bubba Pollard is a former Rattler 250 winner and he has won 24 Pro Late Model races at the South Alabama track.  Outside of his one victory, he’s struggled in the Super Late Model there.  Last year was the best we have seen Pollard run in this race in many years. He led 109 laps and finished third. With his recent struggles we wonder what we will see from Pollard this weekend.


3) Defending Southern Super Series champion Stephen Nasse will begin a quest for a third Southern Super Series championship.  Nasse and Casey Roderick are the only two drivers with two titles each.


4) Two-time Rattler 250 winner Grant Enfinger will be back in Opp, Alabama seeking a third win.  Speed51.com spoke to Enfinger earlier this week – https://speed51.com/enfinger-returns-to-rattler-on-10th-anniversary-of-victory/.


5) The race will be 250 laps, but it wasn’t always that many. In the past it was 200, 150, 125, and it was even twin 50’s when it first started in the 70’s. It has been run at the 250 distance for 15 years now.


6) South Alabama Speedway is the backdrop for the Rattler 250 this weekend.  This Sunday afternoon classic is the unofficial kickoff to Spring and the official kickoff to the Southern Super Series season.


7) Another former winner to keep an eye on is Casey Roderick.  His 2014 Rattler 250 win was one of his two career wins at South Alabama Speedway. Since that win he’s struggled; he is seeking good luck and hopes to turn his luck around Sunday.


8) According to our records, we are confident that Rich Bickle has never been to South Alabama to race.  The crafty veteran who is a five-time Snowball Derby winner is running his farewell season in 2021.


9) Hunter Robbins is running the Rattler 250.  Back in 2007, at the age of 15, he nearly won the race over Augie Grill, but a wild last lap sent both cars wrecking across the line.  Look back to our feature article that day – http://www.speed51archives.com/2007_stories/SLM/Rattler_Recap.html 


10) Ty Majeski is a three-time Rattler winner having led 469 laps in four of the last five runnings of the race.  That total is second only to Augie Grill who has led the race in six different seasons. Majeski has to be the favorite coming off his Snowball Derby win in December.


-Story by: Elgin Traylor, Speed51 Southeast Correspondent
-Photo credit: Speed51

10 Things to Know About The Rattler 250