10 Things to Know About ISMA Season Opener

The 2021 championship season for the International Supermodified Association (ISMA) begins this Saturday, June 26 at Monadnock Speedway in Winchester, New Hampshire.  We get you ready for the race and the upcoming season in this edition of “10 Things to Know” on Speed51.


1. There are 11 races on the 2021 schedule with one race already in the books. However, that race was a non-points special show at Seekonk Speedway.  Some of the big events include the Hy-Miler Nationals 100 at Sandusky Speedway (OH), the Bob Webber, Sr. Memorial Classic at Star Speedway (NH) and the Ollie Silva Memorial at Lee USA Speedway.  July is by far the biggest event with four races.


2. You can watch the ISMA Supermodifieds at Monadnock Speedway with a Speed51.TV monthly or yearly subscription. Log on to see the race if you can’t be there in person.

WATCH LIVE: ISMA at Monadnock

3. A driver to keen an eye on this weekend and throughout the season will be former ISMA champion Ben Seitz, who will be driving Howie Lane’s No. 97 Supermodified in 2021.  Speed51.com caught up with Seitz a few days back. Read the full story: https://speed51.com/seitz-adjusting-well-to-howie-lanes-isma-supermodified/


4. Saturday’s season opener at Monadnock will be 75 laps around the high-banked oval.


5. The race will pay $3,500 to the winner. Bonus awards include a $200 Hard Charger sponsored by H&S Prototype and a $100 Last-Car Running sponsored by Greg Farren & The Snowball Gang.


6. The Monadnock Speedway was opened in 1971. Mike Lichty won the only other ISMA race held at Monadnock back in 2018.


7. There were only five races in 2020 because of the COVID-19 pandemic, and there was no championship awarded.


8. ISMA started in 1976 when Bentley Warren won five of the first 11 races, but Steve Gioia, Jr. won the championship by seven points.  The championship went to Gioia again in 1978.


9. Jon McKennedy beat out Ben Seitz in the 75-lap event at Seekonk Speedway (MA) earlier this month. He will be one of the drivers to watch this weekend. The race at Seekonk was a non-points show.


10. Russ Wood has the most ISMA titles with eight, he last won a title in 2011.


-Story by: Elgin Traylor, Speed51 Stat Boy

-Photo credit: Speed51

10 Things to Know About ISMA Season Opener