10 Short Track Records & Numbers to Watch in 2020

As a new short track racing season begins, there will be many different storylines to keep an eye on throughout the new year.  Many of those storylines involve impressive statistical achievements and records that could potentially be broken in 2020.  We get you ready for the upcoming year by giving you 10 short track records, achievements and numbers to keep an eye on this year.


6: The 2019 season was a strange one for Late Model Stock Car standout Philip Morris, who seemed to fade late in the year and lose sight of what could have been a record-setting sixth NASCAR Whelen All-American Series National Championship.  With 294 career wins, Morris will chase his 300th win, as well as another NASCAR title in 2020.  Throw in Marcus Richmond as a co-owner and crew chief, and you have the start of what could be a fantastic year for “King Philip.”


6: Can Matt Hirschman win the Race of Champions for the sixth year in a row?  He won the last five at three different race tracks, and now he’s chasing a six pack.  Overall, Hirschman has the most wins in the event with seven, while his dad Tony Hirschman is on the trophy four times. including once for his victory on the Pocono infield course.


7: When it comes to the NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour, no one has more touring titles than the late Mike Stefanik.  His seven titles in the “Modern Era” seemed out of reach until last season when Doug Coby pushed his championship count to six, including five of the last six.  We will be watching to see if Coby can tie Stefanik.  If he does, the debates will heat up in regards to Coby’s place in Modified history.


11: Stadium supremacy could come down to who wins the Modified title this year at Bowman Gray Stadium.  In one corner, you have Tim Brown who has 10 titles, the most wins and the most poles in Modified action at the quarter-mile in Winston-Salem, North Carolina.  In the other corner, you have Burt Myers who recently ended the decade with his 10th title and sits second in all-time wins.  This chapter might be the best one yet as the motivation for each driver will be higher than it’s ever been come April.


11: Eddie MacDonald has 11 career wins at New Hampshire Motor Speedway, trailing only 2019 NASCAR Cup Series champion Kyle Busch’s 12 career wins at The Magic Mile.  MacDonald’s wins have come in several different types of race cars.  He has five ACT Tour wins, three ARCA East (formerly NASCAR K&N Pro Series East) wins, two PASS wins and a Granite State Pro Stock Series win.  He will have at least one opportunity to tie Busch’s record this year when the Pro All Stars Series visits the Loudon, New Hampshire oval in April.


18: I will spin this number until it’s broken.  The World Series of Asphalt Stock Car Racing at New Smyrna Speedway has gone 18 seasons with 18 different Super Late Model champions.  During the last 18 years, those drivers have come from Florida, Georgia, Maine, South Carolina, California, Wisconsin and North Carolina.


32: Brian Campbell is chasing Scott Hantz’s ARCA/CRA Super Series all-time wins record heading into the 2020 season.  Hantz has 31 wins career wins, while Campbell has 27 to his credit.  Look for Campbell to at least close the gap or potentially break the record this year.


100: Ty Majeski is going to score his 100th career victory in 2020; it’s just a matter of when and where it happens.  Majeski has been sitting on 99 career victories since a win in October, and he’s hungry to finally reach the big milestone.  Will it come in the NASCAR Truck Series or will it come in a Late Model race?  Only time will tell, but we’ll certainly be keeping an eye on it during the early part of the year.


300: No, we are not talking about a bowling score; we are talking about Donny Schatz’s win total on the World of Outlaws Sprint Car Series. Sitting at 294 career wins, Schatz goes into 2020 seeking the 300-win mark in the series. Sure, Steve Kinser has more and Sammy Swindell has 394, but the fact that Schatz could be one of three drivers in the 300 club makes it a special achievement.


500: Derek Thorn needs to win the first four SPEARS SRL Southwest Series races, and at that point he’ll be batting .500 in the series.  If he can do it, he would have 45 wins in 90 starts.  That’s amazing to think about considering the fact he really hasn’t run the full schedule in recent years.


-Story by: Elgin Traylor, Speed51 Southeast Correspondent

-Photo credit: Speed51Photos.com

10 Short Track Records & Numbers to Watch in 2020