10 Short Track Drivers Named to #TeamPFC for 2020 Season

The 10 members of #TeamPFC for the 2020 racing season were revealed Tuesday on Speed51’s “The Bullring,” narrowed down from a list of 51 semi-finalists out of more than 300 entries.


The #SponsorMePFC20 class includes 10 racers from a variety of disciplines and backgrounds.  The list includes Treyten Lapcevich, Jake Leitzman, Mike Looney, Greg Martin, Matthew Nance, Devin O’Connell, Connor Okrzesik, Brooke Storer, Grant Thompson and Brett Yackey.


Each member of #TeamPFC will receive $1,500 in product certificates, PFC swag and full social media coverage from PFC Brakes.


The 10 finalists were called during “The Bullring” to receive the news of their selection, providing some excited reactions to the announcements.


Matthew Nance, a former FASTRAK Racing Series champion from Ronda, North Carolina, hopes to compete more frequently in Dirt Super Late Models in 2020 as he carries the PFC banner.


“That’s great. Hopefully we can get a new set of brakes on the new car,” said Nance.  “I hope we can win more than we did last year.  We haven’t picked up our new car yet, but we’re wanting to race Super Late Models with the ULTIMATE series if everything comes together in time.”


Florida’s Brooke Storer is working towards climbing the racing ladder, and now will have the support of PFC Brakes.  When she got the call, she was taking her Wheel Man Series race car to Daytona Beach, Florida for preparations ahead of the World Series of Asphalt Stock Car racing.


“I was looking forward to hopefully getting this call.  I’ve been listening to ‘The Bullring’ while driving to Daytona right now.


“This is huge for my small team.  Me and my crew chief, Jason Boyd, look forward to representing the PFC banner well.”


Late Model Stock Car competitor Mike Looney is a former ValleyStar Credit Union 300 winner at Martinsville Speedway (VA), but his low-budget team is still one of the underdogs of the discipline and hopes to maintain its level of success with the help of PFC.


“We’re racing out of our league, me and Billy Martin.  We’re way over our heads but somehow we’re swimming still.  This is a great product.  We ran PFC Brakes all year last year.  We ran the same set of brake pads all season, which is unbelievable.”


DIRTcar UMP Modified racer Jake Leitzman was another driver named to Team PFC.  He is excited to build on a successful 2019 as part of the program.


“That’s awesome news,” said Leitzman.  “We’re a small team in Indiana.  That’s big for us little guys.


“We had a pretty good, strong season in 2019.  We finished second at two different tracks in points and third in Indiana Southern state points.  We’re just looking for that edge to push us to the top and hoping this helps us.”


An on-demand replay of “The Bullring” featuring all of the phone calls with Team PFC members can be viewed by clicking here.


“The Bullring” airs on Mondays at 7:00 a.m. for free from Studio 51 in Concord, N.C.  Fans can watch each week on Speed51 or on Speed51’s Facebook Feed presented by Five Star Bodies.


-Story by: Zach Evans, Speed51 Content Supervisor – Twitter: @ztevans

-Photo credit: Speed51 photo

10 Short Track Drivers Named to #TeamPFC for 2020 Season